Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 39

Thread: Here is an excellent guide about HD Partitions

  1. #16
    Raisinets RULE!!!
    • joeMan's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • eVGA 122-M2-NF59-TR
      • CPU:
      • AM2 6400+ 3.2GHz
      • memory:
      • 4GB (2x2GB) Patriot 6400
      • graphics:
      • eVGA 7950GT 512MB x2 SLi
      • PSU:
      • Silverstone SST-ST85ZF
      • Hard drives:
      • Seagate 160GB x2 RAID0
      • OS:
      • XP Pro x64
    joeMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    3,416
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Urlyin, thanks. I'll take a closer look at this.

  2. #17
    Just Another Member
    • Paragon's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel D875PBZ
      • CPU:
      • Intel 3.4 C
      • memory:
      • 2 GB Patriot PC 3500
      • graphics:
      • ATI X800XL
      • PSU:
      • Seasonic 600 watt
      • Hard drives:
      • 2-Seagate 120GB 7200.7
    Paragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,029
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Decided to stick this one for a while; looks like something a number of people might be able to use...Nice one joeMan

  3. #18

    Default

    also Joeman if you have 2 gig of mem the last thing you need is a pagefile ... check out the info here.

  4. #19
    Raisinets RULE!!!
    • joeMan's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • eVGA 122-M2-NF59-TR
      • CPU:
      • AM2 6400+ 3.2GHz
      • memory:
      • 4GB (2x2GB) Patriot 6400
      • graphics:
      • eVGA 7950GT 512MB x2 SLi
      • PSU:
      • Silverstone SST-ST85ZF
      • Hard drives:
      • Seagate 160GB x2 RAID0
      • OS:
      • XP Pro x64
    joeMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    3,416
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Ya, ever since I jumped to 2 Gigs I have been tempted to disable paging, or switch to 'no page file'. The only reason I haven't by now is that most places I read about it say Adobe Photoshop has problems, and also some games refuse to run w/o one. Otherwise I probably would go without.

  5. #20

    Default

    Your right some apps do have issues with the no page ...

  6. #21
    A sixpence guvna!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    24

    Default

    ok, this might be a little bit off topic of this thread but, may have to do with my partitions again, I seem to be on a roll here. So i installed Spybot on my machine, but when I try to run it, it gives me the 'Please insert disk into drive: device\harddisk1\dr5' error, and I can only guess it has something to do with drive paths? I've heard of this error with qttask but not with spybot. Anyone else have this problem or know a solution?

    After having searched around, I think this may have something to do with SATA drives. It also maynot help that my drive is mounted as F. It did that because I had my usb reader connected when installing XP, and it recognised that as drive C, as I didnt install the SATA drivers yet. DOH!

    I guess im going to change my card reader to another letter and see what happens, since i cant change my os partition to a different letter.

    Well, if all else fails, I will just reinstall XP without my card reader connected and see what happens then.

    I havent checked the event log, will do that and see if that says anything.
    Shuttle sn95g5 v1.3
    Athlon 64 3500+
    Corsair XMS 2-3-3-10, T1
    Hitachi 80gb SATA HDD
    MSI 6600GT

  7. #22
    Raisinets RULE!!!
    • joeMan's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • eVGA 122-M2-NF59-TR
      • CPU:
      • AM2 6400+ 3.2GHz
      • memory:
      • 4GB (2x2GB) Patriot 6400
      • graphics:
      • eVGA 7950GT 512MB x2 SLi
      • PSU:
      • Silverstone SST-ST85ZF
      • Hard drives:
      • Seagate 160GB x2 RAID0
      • OS:
      • XP Pro x64
    joeMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    3,416
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Propellorhead, I did the exact same thing once. I just reinstalled so it would be C:

  8. #23
    A sixpence guvna!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Yep that fixed it. System runs well now. THanks!
    Shuttle sn95g5 v1.3
    Athlon 64 3500+
    Corsair XMS 2-3-3-10, T1
    Hitachi 80gb SATA HDD
    MSI 6600GT

  9. #24
    BE Member
    • joeWI's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • Athlon64 X2 4800+
      • memory:
      • 2 Corsair TWINX2048 (4GB)
      • PSU:
      • 600W
      • Hard drives:
      • WD Raptor 74GB SATA 10K RPM

    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    82
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    I don't understand why you would install programs into a different partition than the o/s. (Unless you have a separate physical drive for performance reasons.)

    If you have to reinstall the o/s, what benefit is that? Most programs would not work because they have not been added to the registry, etc.

    What am I missing?

  10. #25
    Member Gone Over The Edge
    • ThugsRook's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5Q
      • CPU:
      • E8200 2.66ghz (Wolfdale)
      • CPU clock:
      • 1200mhz (6x200fsb)
      • memory:
      • 4gb Mushkin HP2-8500
      • graphics:
      • Geforce 7300LE (fanless)
      • PSU:
      • Enermax 400W
      • Hard drives:
      • OCZ V2 30gb SSD
      • OS:
      • WinXP32 Pro SP3
    ThugsRook's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    FLA
    Posts
    4,179
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    1 HD here

    C:\ OS and programs, and of course my profile and the 1.5gb swap file

    D:\ games and storage files, and of course a backup of my profile


  11. #26
    Raisinets RULE!!!
    • joeMan's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • eVGA 122-M2-NF59-TR
      • CPU:
      • AM2 6400+ 3.2GHz
      • memory:
      • 4GB (2x2GB) Patriot 6400
      • graphics:
      • eVGA 7950GT 512MB x2 SLi
      • PSU:
      • Silverstone SST-ST85ZF
      • Hard drives:
      • Seagate 160GB x2 RAID0
      • OS:
      • XP Pro x64
    joeMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    3,416
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    joeWI, this is a good point you make. I just read recently (in Koroush Ghazi's tweak guide I think ) that installing prog's on OS partition is best fo that very reason. Registry entries would be hosed if OS partition gets hosed.

    This brings up a quesiton -

    Assuming all prog's are on a separate partition from the OS: What if you had just made a good registry backup, then wipe and reinstall OS, then restore the registry from the good backup you had just made prior to the reinstall? Would that be sufficient to create a functional reinstall between the OS and Prog's partitions?

  12. #27
    Member Gone Over The Edge
    • ThugsRook's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5Q
      • CPU:
      • E8200 2.66ghz (Wolfdale)
      • CPU clock:
      • 1200mhz (6x200fsb)
      • memory:
      • 4gb Mushkin HP2-8500
      • graphics:
      • Geforce 7300LE (fanless)
      • PSU:
      • Enermax 400W
      • Hard drives:
      • OCZ V2 30gb SSD
      • OS:
      • WinXP32 Pro SP3
    ThugsRook's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    FLA
    Posts
    4,179
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    joe ~ usually the reason you reinstall is cause of a problem. restoring the reg will usually restore that problem

  13. #28
    Raisinets RULE!!!
    • joeMan's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • eVGA 122-M2-NF59-TR
      • CPU:
      • AM2 6400+ 3.2GHz
      • memory:
      • 4GB (2x2GB) Patriot 6400
      • graphics:
      • eVGA 7950GT 512MB x2 SLi
      • PSU:
      • Silverstone SST-ST85ZF
      • Hard drives:
      • Seagate 160GB x2 RAID0
      • OS:
      • XP Pro x64
    joeMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    3,416
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ThugsRook
    joe ~ usually the reason you reinstall is cause of a problem. restoring the reg will usually restore that problem
    This is why I like hanging out with smart people .

    Actually though, now that I think about it - what if it was just because of a corrupted file (other than the registry) from an extreme OC?

  14. #29
    Member Gone Over The Edge
    • ThugsRook's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5Q
      • CPU:
      • E8200 2.66ghz (Wolfdale)
      • CPU clock:
      • 1200mhz (6x200fsb)
      • memory:
      • 4gb Mushkin HP2-8500
      • graphics:
      • Geforce 7300LE (fanless)
      • PSU:
      • Enermax 400W
      • Hard drives:
      • OCZ V2 30gb SSD
      • OS:
      • WinXP32 Pro SP3
    ThugsRook's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    FLA
    Posts
    4,179
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    how would you know?
    and how often are you gonna backup that reg?

    you want clean and fresh? go the extra 9 yards and reset your config yourself.

    besides, with all the XP updates and other garb im not so sure it would even work right these days.

    worried about killing your OS from OCing?
    test with M86 before booting to your HD

  15. #30
    Member Gone Over The Edge
    • ThugsRook's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5Q
      • CPU:
      • E8200 2.66ghz (Wolfdale)
      • CPU clock:
      • 1200mhz (6x200fsb)
      • memory:
      • 4gb Mushkin HP2-8500
      • graphics:
      • Geforce 7300LE (fanless)
      • PSU:
      • Enermax 400W
      • Hard drives:
      • OCZ V2 30gb SSD
      • OS:
      • WinXP32 Pro SP3
    ThugsRook's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    FLA
    Posts
    4,179
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    IMHO: each and every program in your system SHOULD have the ability to backup its own reg settings and config.

    its BS that hasnt been incorperated yet

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •