Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 50

Thread: My geil golden dragon...

  1. #1
    FS/FT Mod(ding Junkie) shimmishim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,366
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default My geil golden dragon...

    So...

    i was playing a game last night and experienced a random reboot... a complete system reboot... hadn't had one of these in FOREVER...

    i firs thought it was my overclock but then i decided to test my ram...

    i ran 2.5-3-3-7 @ 234 and starting on the second pass of test #5, i started getting errors like crazy...

    so i ran 2.5-4-3-7 @ 234 and still got errors...

    i decided maybe it was my overclock...

    took it down to 1:1 @ 233 @ 2.5-3-3-7 and still got errors...

    tried again at 5:4 @ 234 @ 3-4-4-8 and still GETTING errors...

    the ic7 maxes the voltage out at 2.75 vdimm as you all know...

    this ram is good up to 3.1volts...

    i still have a good .35 volts left on this ram to increase it by but i can't cuz of the board....

    should I:
    1. rma it and get some ocz gold or will i have the same problem with those as well?

    2. keep it and do a vdimm mod to my board?

    3. i'm screwed?

    hahaha...

    thanks guys!

  2. #2
    Moderator Hawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, NY
    Posts
    6,166

    Default

    Test #5
    prior to 865/875 boards - memory speed, timings and vdimm related (meaning altering mem speed, timings and/or vdimm saw errors in this test disappear)

    Play with the settings, if not, maybe the ram is flakey. . . . .






    Processor
    (NW)P4 3.4C | SL793 | Malay | Batch: L342B422 | Pack date: 1/10/04

    Motherboard
    ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe 1016 Bios

    Memory
    2 * 512MB OCZ 3700 EB's DDR's

    BFG 6800 Ultra OC | 2 * WD Raptors - RAID 0 on ICH5-R | Viewsonic VX2000 20" LCD

  3. #3
    Member On The Edge eva2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    2,979

    Default

    room temps and case temps higher ? how's the NB temps ?

    i just finished testing my GEIL Goldren Dragon PC3700 on IC7 and did fine at 233mhz 2.5-4-3-7 and 245mhz 2.5-4-4-8 at 2.8v in bios setting

  4. #4
    FS/FT Mod(ding Junkie) shimmishim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,366
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    temps are all good...

    33 system
    53 load
    46.5 pwm


    hmm...

    so yeah...

    i dunno what to do...

    think i should return the ram?

    edit: i have one of the new fans on my NB


  5. #5
    FS/FT Mod(ding Junkie) shimmishim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,366
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    btw hawk:

    i tried everything...

    i tried the highest vdimm possible on the board and the loosest timings of 3-4-4-8 and it still gave errors (actually more errors and early on than 2.5-4-4-8)

  6. #6
    Moderator Hawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, NY
    Posts
    6,166

    Default

    Do you have a bud that you can test these chips in his/her machine? That would get rid of the headache of RMA'ing anything. . .






    Processor
    (NW)P4 3.4C | SL793 | Malay | Batch: L342B422 | Pack date: 1/10/04

    Motherboard
    ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe 1016 Bios

    Memory
    2 * 512MB OCZ 3700 EB's DDR's

    BFG 6800 Ultra OC | 2 * WD Raptors - RAID 0 on ICH5-R | Viewsonic VX2000 20" LCD

  7. #7
    FS/FT Mod(ding Junkie) shimmishim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,366
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    no i don't

    i'm gonna try bios 1.4 and see if that helps

    the board i got came with 1.5 so i'm gonna see if this works..

    if not then... yeah... maybe rma..

  8. #8
    FS/FT Mod(ding Junkie) shimmishim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,366
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    still errors...

    but a lot less per pass than before...

    average of 6 per pass...

    now down to 2 per pass....

    i have a feeling that if i can up this voltage to 2.8 or 2.9 then it'll be fine...

    hmm....

    now trying 2.5-4-4-8 with the last two options disabled under GA

    first error shows up usually in pass #5


    should i try using dimm slots 1 and 3 instead? you think that may work? (currently using 0 and 2)

  9. #9
    FS/FT Mod(ding Junkie) shimmishim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,366
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    hmm... pass #11 and no errors still

    i think we have a winner...

    so yeah... 2.5-4-4-8 isn't too bad i guess ...

    bandwidth dropped from about 2480ish MB/s to 2210 MB/s

    hmm... maybe i can try 2.5-4-3-8

    or 2.5-3-4-8

  10. #10
    FS/FT Mod(ding Junkie) shimmishim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,366
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    memtest worked at 2.5-4-4-8 ...

    but one thing i notice now is that when i'm typing.. the typing will stop for about .5 seconds and then all the words that i had typed will show up a little later...

    is this a ram issue? i have a feeling it is...

    argh... im gonna have to rma this to geil...

    why am i having such bad luck with my system these days... i really don't think the amd "gods" are happy with me

    ok ok j/k j/k...

  11. #11
    Member Gone Over The Edge
    • ThugsRook's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5Q
      • CPU:
      • E8200 2.66ghz (Wolfdale)
      • CPU clock:
      • 1200mhz (6x200fsb)
      • memory:
      • 4gb Mushkin HP2-8500
      • graphics:
      • Geforce 7300LE (fanless)
      • PSU:
      • Enermax 400W
      • Hard drives:
      • OCZ V2 30gb SSD
      • OS:
      • WinXP32 Pro SP3
    ThugsRook's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    FLA
    Posts
    4,179
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    try c2448

  12. #12
    Moderator Hawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, NY
    Posts
    6,166

    Default

    That should not be a ram issue concerning the delay. Sounds like something running on the machine is hogging CPU cycles. Run Per. Mon and check to see what is taking a hold of the CPU at those times of the slow down. I found something similar on my work machine and it was related to Wild Tanget. Now I only load it when I wanna play. . . . .







    Originally posted by shimmishim
    memtest worked at 2.5-4-4-8 ...

    but one thing i notice now is that when i'm typing.. the typing will stop for about .5 seconds and then all the words that i had typed will show up a little later...

    is this a ram issue? i have a feeling it is...

    argh... im gonna have to rma this to geil...

    why am i having such bad luck with my system these days... i really don't think the amd "gods" are happy with me

    ok ok j/k j/k...






    Processor
    (NW)P4 3.4C | SL793 | Malay | Batch: L342B422 | Pack date: 1/10/04

    Motherboard
    ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe 1016 Bios

    Memory
    2 * 512MB OCZ 3700 EB's DDR's

    BFG 6800 Ultra OC | 2 * WD Raptors - RAID 0 on ICH5-R | Viewsonic VX2000 20" LCD

  13. #13
    FS/FT Mod(ding Junkie) shimmishim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,366
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    it was kazaa downloading a file that was hogging up the cpu cycles + seti@home running...

    now that i stopped downloading, everything is fine

  14. #14
    Moderator Hawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Long Beach, NY
    Posts
    6,166

    Default

    There ya go bud. . . . .





    Originally posted by shimmishim
    it was kazaa downloading a file that was hogging up the cpu cycles + seti@home running...

    now that i stopped downloading, everything is fine






    Processor
    (NW)P4 3.4C | SL793 | Malay | Batch: L342B422 | Pack date: 1/10/04

    Motherboard
    ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe 1016 Bios

    Memory
    2 * 512MB OCZ 3700 EB's DDR's

    BFG 6800 Ultra OC | 2 * WD Raptors - RAID 0 on ICH5-R | Viewsonic VX2000 20" LCD

  15. #15
    FS/FT Mod(ding Junkie) shimmishim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    2,366
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    mr-know-it-all :P


    Originally posted by Hawk
    There ya go bud. . . . .

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •