Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Get smaller pics

  1. #1
    Over The Edge
    • Dave3d's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Rampage III Formula
      • CPU:
      • Intel 990x Extreme
      • CPU clock:
      • 4ghz
      • memory:
      • 12gb G.SKILL Ripjaw 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
      • graphics:
      • GTX 580
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX-1200
      • Hard drives:
      • WD Raptor 600, WD Black 2tb, both on Sata 6gbs
      • OS:
      • XP 64/Win7 64 Dual Boot
    Dave3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3,583
    Blog Entries
    2
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default Get smaller pics

    Hey all of you.
    I just bought a HAF-X case.
    Going to do a review of it (even though there are like a billion out there already).

    Looks like I wll have to start making my images smaller so they will be able to upload to this server (my last review kinda sucked because the pics were VERY large, and also they wont show the whole pic when uploaded to file share).

    So, any ideas on making my pics smaller in size without losing much detail?

    What I was doing was:
    Taking the pic (12mb camera).
    Cutting out what I dont want.
    Using Photoshop cut-rate-version to white out everything but what I want.
    Saving.

    It seems that when I do the white-out thing, that is actually adding another layer?
    And since I just save it, it is usually bigger than the actual pic was.
    I have to bond the layers or something, then save?

    Anyway, I think the limit is something ridiculous like 80kb per jpg.

    Any thoughts on how to get a 1-2mb file down to <90kb ?

    Thanks.
    ____________________________________________________________

    Every day I try to follow Gods will. Every day, I struggle immensely with my human nature.

  2. #2
    Chính Nó!
    • sbinh's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5N-E SLI / P5B-Dlx / P5W-DH Dlx
      • CPU:
      • C2D E6600 / E6400 / E6600
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.6GHz (1.44v) / 3.2GHz (1.47v) / 3.7GHz (1.47v)
      • memory:
      • OCZ PC8500 / OCZ OCZ2G8002GK + Corsai XMS 1GB (2.1v) / SuperTalent DDR2-800
      • graphics:
      • XFX GeForce 7600GT XXX / BFG GeForce 7600 GT / Powercolor Radeon X300se
      • PSU:
      • OCZ Xtream 700W / PC P&amp;C 470W /
      • Hard drives:
      • Seagate SATAII 120GB + 2 Maxtor IDE 250GB --- WD 160GB SATA
      • OS:
      • WinXP 32bit Pro (all)
    sbinh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    902
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Use the Marquee tool to cut only part you want and create new pic. That would make pic size smaller


    Example:


    Original pic: (36KB)


    Cut version (8KB)


    Hope it would help





  3. #3
    Over The Edge
    • Dave3d's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Rampage III Formula
      • CPU:
      • Intel 990x Extreme
      • CPU clock:
      • 4ghz
      • memory:
      • 12gb G.SKILL Ripjaw 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
      • graphics:
      • GTX 580
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX-1200
      • Hard drives:
      • WD Raptor 600, WD Black 2tb, both on Sata 6gbs
      • OS:
      • XP 64/Win7 64 Dual Boot
    Dave3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3,583
    Blog Entries
    2
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Yeah, thats what I do.

    Then, I white out everything that ISNT what I want to show (so it looks like a completely white background). This seems to add another layer, and make it just as big as the original pic though.

    Saving it at lower res makes it smaller, but also makes it all grainy looking too.

    Sigh.
    ____________________________________________________________

    Every day I try to follow Gods will. Every day, I struggle immensely with my human nature.

  4. #4
    I am a little Sneezy
    • Snafu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD5-B3
      • CPU:
      • i5 2500k
      • memory:
      • 8GB Crucial
      • graphics:
      • EVGA 560
      • PSU:
      • Corsair 750w
      • Hard drives:
      • OCZ SSD 64GB + Seagate 1TB
      • case:
      • HAF
      • OS:
      • Win7 Ultimate
    Snafu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ...don't wanna know where the other 6 are
    Posts
    14,194
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Have you tried flattening the image after creating the white out layer? This should merge all layers together...at least I think (been a little while since I fooled around).

    Personally, what I do for photos is to set the aperture as larger as you can and let the camera set the shutter speed. What this does is shorten the depth of field so that hopefully only what you are shooting is in focus. The rest is blurry.

    I also use a background like a sheet (velvet works well). So there is nothing in the background to worry about.

    As for making the images smaller this is the approach I use:
    - edit picture (crop, colour adjust, fiddle with it until I like it)
    - resize to the size of a standard screen (1024?)
    - then I make a thumbnail size of the pic (reduced to about a 1/4 of the original)
    - upload both to the server

    Now the fun part...html coding. I use the thumb nail image in the article and link it to the full size image and code it so the full size image opens in a new window (rather than take the reader away from the article). I am sure there is more coding that can be used so that the full size image fits whatever window size the reader is using but I haven't gotten that far yet.

    If the review is being posted as a thread on the forum then all you need to do is code it like this:

    Code:
    [img]
    {url=url address to full size image}
    thumbnail-pic.jpg
    {/url}
    [/img]
    (change the { } brackets to [ ] brackets...the code tag won't ignore the url code)

    Because of the way the forum is set up the image should open in a new window already (default setting of the forum). SO you don't have to worry about it if the review is built in a thread.

    That's about it.




    Snafu
    Profile - Webpage

    You can't live life without living - me

    Nothing is that important that it must be done today as long as you will wake up tomorrow - me


  5. #5
    Over The Edge
    • Dave3d's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Rampage III Formula
      • CPU:
      • Intel 990x Extreme
      • CPU clock:
      • 4ghz
      • memory:
      • 12gb G.SKILL Ripjaw 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
      • graphics:
      • GTX 580
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX-1200
      • Hard drives:
      • WD Raptor 600, WD Black 2tb, both on Sata 6gbs
      • OS:
      • XP 64/Win7 64 Dual Boot
    Dave3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3,583
    Blog Entries
    2
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    @Snafu
    No, thats what my buddy told me to do also, was flatten the image.
    Thats why I said it was bigger than the original, because I didnt know to flatten it.
    But, even that wont bring it down to size enough to upload the image to the server.


    Thanks for the other tips.
    I will try resizing next.

    Lets see....
    Here is a test (and a sneek peek):

    Full size:


    Thumbnail:


    Edit:
    HAF-X next to Stacker STC-T01 (the STC has both upper AND lower psu bays).
    Last edited by Dave3d; 10-21-2010 at 09:46 PM.
    ____________________________________________________________

    Every day I try to follow Gods will. Every day, I struggle immensely with my human nature.

  6. #6
    Over The Edge
    • Dave3d's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Rampage III Formula
      • CPU:
      • Intel 990x Extreme
      • CPU clock:
      • 4ghz
      • memory:
      • 12gb G.SKILL Ripjaw 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
      • graphics:
      • GTX 580
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX-1200
      • Hard drives:
      • WD Raptor 600, WD Black 2tb, both on Sata 6gbs
      • OS:
      • XP 64/Win7 64 Dual Boot
    Dave3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3,583
    Blog Entries
    2
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Grrrrr.

    This just irks me.

    Same links (for full size) as in my review, but the forum shows it perfect, and the review cuts the pic in half.


    NUTCASE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ____________________________________________________________

    Every day I try to follow Gods will. Every day, I struggle immensely with my human nature.

  7. #7
    Administrator
    • ol'norton's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P9X79
      • CPU:
      • i7 3820
      • CPU clock:
      • stock
      • memory:
      • Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 8 gig
      • graphics:
      • GTX680
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX1200
      • Hard drives:
      • Ocz IBIS 240GB / Ocz RevoDrive X2 240GB
      • OS:
      • Win 7
    ol'norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    4,771
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Your going to be up against it starting with 12 megapixel shots, but Faststone Image Viewer has some easy to use features for reducing pic size.
    Is it too far down the track to turn down the resolution & retake the shots?

  8. #8
    Over The Edge
    • Dave3d's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Rampage III Formula
      • CPU:
      • Intel 990x Extreme
      • CPU clock:
      • 4ghz
      • memory:
      • 12gb G.SKILL Ripjaw 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
      • graphics:
      • GTX 580
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX-1200
      • Hard drives:
      • WD Raptor 600, WD Black 2tb, both on Sata 6gbs
      • OS:
      • XP 64/Win7 64 Dual Boot
    Dave3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3,583
    Blog Entries
    2
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Well, 82 pics so far of the CM case.
    And, a hurt back.

    So, yeah, kinda too late.

    Will check out Fsatstone Image Viewer though.

    Thanks.

    Edit:
    For the review pics, I could always submit thumbnail links, IF I could edit the review, which I cant seem to do.
    ____________________________________________________________

    Every day I try to follow Gods will. Every day, I struggle immensely with my human nature.

  9. #9
    Administrator
    • ol'norton's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P9X79
      • CPU:
      • i7 3820
      • CPU clock:
      • stock
      • memory:
      • Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 8 gig
      • graphics:
      • GTX680
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX1200
      • Hard drives:
      • Ocz IBIS 240GB / Ocz RevoDrive X2 240GB
      • OS:
      • Win 7
    ol'norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    4,771
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Sorry that was a typo. Its Faststone Image Viewer

  10. #10
    I am a little Sneezy
    • Snafu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD5-B3
      • CPU:
      • i5 2500k
      • memory:
      • 8GB Crucial
      • graphics:
      • EVGA 560
      • PSU:
      • Corsair 750w
      • Hard drives:
      • OCZ SSD 64GB + Seagate 1TB
      • case:
      • HAF
      • OS:
      • Win7 Ultimate
    Snafu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ...don't wanna know where the other 6 are
    Posts
    14,194
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    You almost had it! The linked url dumps you to photobucket rather than to the image alone. So the thumb above is linked strictly to the image (without the pb junk).



    By example, this is the url you had to the full size image (with the pb junk):

    s809.photobucket.com/albums/zz12/nebiatsu/?action=view&current=CM_HAF_X082.jpg

    Whereas this is the url to just the full size image:

    i809.photobucket.com/albums/zz12/nebiatsu/CM_HAF_X082.jpg

    Another trick I have used is to edit the photo in PS then open the file in a simple editer like Paint and resave the pic. Usually I find that the file size is reduced.

    One more tick but this time in PS (just remembered). When you go to save the PS edited image as a JPG file, it should let you choose the amount of image compression. As you choose how much compression it shows you the resulting file size.

    Hope this helps ya out




    Snafu
    Profile - Webpage

    You can't live life without living - me

    Nothing is that important that it must be done today as long as you will wake up tomorrow - me


  11. #11
    Over The Edge
    • Dave3d's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus Rampage III Formula
      • CPU:
      • Intel 990x Extreme
      • CPU clock:
      • 4ghz
      • memory:
      • 12gb G.SKILL Ripjaw 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
      • graphics:
      • GTX 580
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX-1200
      • Hard drives:
      • WD Raptor 600, WD Black 2tb, both on Sata 6gbs
      • OS:
      • XP 64/Win7 64 Dual Boot
    Dave3d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3,583
    Blog Entries
    2
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Snafu View Post
    One more tick but this time in PS (just remembered). When you go to save the PS edited image as a JPG file, it should let you choose the amount of image compression. As you choose how much compression it shows you the resulting file size.
    Yeah, I actually know about this one.
    But, when I do it, it always makes it bumpy/grainy because of the loss in quality, which makes it look like it was taken from a phone camera at 2mp,
    Which, is why I no longer do that.
    Hehe
    ____________________________________________________________

    Every day I try to follow Gods will. Every day, I struggle immensely with my human nature.

  12. #12
    I am a little Sneezy
    • Snafu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD5-B3
      • CPU:
      • i5 2500k
      • memory:
      • 8GB Crucial
      • graphics:
      • EVGA 560
      • PSU:
      • Corsair 750w
      • Hard drives:
      • OCZ SSD 64GB + Seagate 1TB
      • case:
      • HAF
      • OS:
      • Win7 Ultimate
    Snafu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ...don't wanna know where the other 6 are
    Posts
    14,194
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Does this still happen even if you do not compress all the way?

    I have never had a problem even compressing the file half its size (starting with a 5MB pic)

    You can always change the setting on your camera to shoot a smaller sized pic. You do not need a 12 MB high rez pic. Even 2 MB should be pretty good.




    Snafu
    Profile - Webpage

    You can't live life without living - me

    Nothing is that important that it must be done today as long as you will wake up tomorrow - me


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •