Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 46 to 57 of 57

Thread: HOWTO: Overclock C2Q (Quads) and C2D (Duals) - A Guide v1.4

  1. #46
    shubedo
    • aceshu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5B DELUXE
      • CPU:
      • E6600 CONROE
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.31GHz
      • memory:
      • 2GB Crucial PC2 8500
      • graphics:
      • BFG 7950GT OC 512MB
      • PSU:
      • PC POWER & COOLING 750W
      • Hard drives:
      • 2-WD CAVIAR 160GB 3.0SATA
      • OS:
      • XP HOME & VISTA HOME PREMIUM

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    deep south
    Posts
    62
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Sorry I failed to mention, but i'm running different settings now. I tested with orthos for 6 hours and it ran stable. I'm now running at 2:3 ratio with FSB333 and my memory @ 1000MHz. Cpu vcore is @ specs max of 1.325. But I upped the memory to 2.30v and the NB to 1.45v. Ya think maybe i'm getting hooked on this stuff? Oh, ran the memory bandwidth thingy on Sandra and both readings were in the 6600's. Temps under load were in the mid 50's, idle 38c or there abouts.

  2. #47
    Administrator
    • ol'norton's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P9X79
      • CPU:
      • i7 3820
      • CPU clock:
      • stock
      • memory:
      • Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 8 gig
      • graphics:
      • GTX680
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX1200
      • Hard drives:
      • Ocz IBIS 240GB / Ocz RevoDrive X2 240GB
      • OS:
      • Win 7
    ol'norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    4,771
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    You probably don't need that much Vcore to run 333FSB. Drop it down a bit and see if it stays stable. I run my E6600 at 334FSB daily with 1.26V

  3. #48
    BE Veteran
    • graysky's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • P5B-Del (pencil mod for vdroop)
      • CPU:
      • Q6600 L644G101 (lapped) @9x333; vcore=1.2625v BIOS
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.01 GHz
      • memory:
      • Ballistix DDR2-800
      • PSU:
      • Corsair EX620

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    100
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ol'norton View Post
    Whether you are giving your CPU 1.4V or 1.5V doesn't matter as long as you have the cooling to keep loaded coretemps under 60c. Ram is different. You can kill ram with just current even if it doesn't get too hot.
    If you can't get 400FSB @ 1:1 give it more Vcore & try 405FSB
    Whooah dude, not true. Electromigration can cause some serious damage to your processor/ram/mb/whatever regardless of temperature. In simple terms, it occurs when the current density is more than the weakest component in the circuit can handle. My advice is to keep your vcore and other voltages within manufacture specs if you care about the longevity of your hardware.

    For Intel chips, use the processor finder to find the recommended vcore range. For memory, consult the manufacture of the RAM (the max I have seen for DDR2 is 2.2 V). I dunno where you'd look for vcore's for your board like FSB, NB, SB, and ICH.

  4. #49
    Administrator
    • ol'norton's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P9X79
      • CPU:
      • i7 3820
      • CPU clock:
      • stock
      • memory:
      • Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 8 gig
      • graphics:
      • GTX680
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX1200
      • Hard drives:
      • Ocz IBIS 240GB / Ocz RevoDrive X2 240GB
      • OS:
      • Win 7
    ol'norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    4,771
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Do you know anyone this has happened to? I have yet to here of anyone killing a Core 2 Duo with current alone. And mine has done a lot of hours above 1.5V

  5. #50
    shubedo
    • aceshu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5B DELUXE
      • CPU:
      • E6600 CONROE
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.31GHz
      • memory:
      • 2GB Crucial PC2 8500
      • graphics:
      • BFG 7950GT OC 512MB
      • PSU:
      • PC POWER & COOLING 750W
      • Hard drives:
      • 2-WD CAVIAR 160GB 3.0SATA
      • OS:
      • XP HOME & VISTA HOME PREMIUM

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    deep south
    Posts
    62
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default Memory slots

    Any truth to the belief that moving your 2 sticks of memory to the black slots(farthest away from cpu) will possibly give you greater overclocking ability?

  6. #51
    BE Veteran
    • graysky's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • P5B-Del (pencil mod for vdroop)
      • CPU:
      • Q6600 L644G101 (lapped) @9x333; vcore=1.2625v BIOS
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.01 GHz
      • memory:
      • Ballistix DDR2-800
      • PSU:
      • Corsair EX620

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    100
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aceshu View Post
    Any truth to the belief that moving your 2 sticks of memory to the black slots(farthest away from cpu) will possibly give you greater overclocking ability?
    First I've heard of that... try it and see

  7. #52
    shubedo
    • aceshu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5B DELUXE
      • CPU:
      • E6600 CONROE
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.31GHz
      • memory:
      • 2GB Crucial PC2 8500
      • graphics:
      • BFG 7950GT OC 512MB
      • PSU:
      • PC POWER & COOLING 750W
      • Hard drives:
      • 2-WD CAVIAR 160GB 3.0SATA
      • OS:
      • XP HOME & VISTA HOME PREMIUM

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    deep south
    Posts
    62
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Read it in more than one forum. Not sure if I want to go through the trouble though. After almost 2 weeks of learning the overclocking wizardry, I think I can do bios settings blindfolded. I'm overclocking both the cpu and ram. Doesn't make sense to me to do one without the other. Runs just fine at FSB300 and Dram at 900. Going to 333 and 999 won't cut it. I'm trying to avoid too much voltage. Plus it seems any combination that equals 2.5 to 1 isn't an option. 2 to 1(1:1) and 3 to 1(2:3) does work, as long as I'm not exceeding the limits of my memory. So, right now i'm trying 320 FSB @ DDR2960. Upped memory v to 2.25 and NB to 1.45. Timings @ 4-4-4-15. So far, so good.

  8. #53
    BE Veteran
    • graysky's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • P5B-Del (pencil mod for vdroop)
      • CPU:
      • Q6600 L644G101 (lapped) @9x333; vcore=1.2625v BIOS
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.01 GHz
      • memory:
      • Ballistix DDR2-800
      • PSU:
      • Corsair EX620

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    100
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    @aceshu - sounds good... the timings typically work best according to this formula:

    x-x-x-(3x)-(x+1)

    In other words, if x=4, they become: 4-4-4-12-5 and if x=5, they become 5-5-5-15-6 etc.

    Also, I see the date on your post is quite a while ago. I'd actually recommend that you drop your memory down to 1:1 which will very likely allow you to drop your NB voltage and likely the mem voltage.

    There are two kinds of o/c'ers:

    1) Those who want every last MHz out of their equipment at any cost
    2) Those who want to run as fast as possible using the minimum amount of voltage

  9. #54
    BE Defined
    • boshuter's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • P5WD2 Premium, DFI 975 X/G
      • CPU:
      • 950ES, E6700ES
      • CPU clock:
      • 950ES@5.6ghz, E6700ES@???
      • memory:
      • 2X512 Corsair PC5400UL
      • graphics:
      • X800pro, X1800XT, X1900XTX
      • PSU:
      • 2 X Antec 550
      • Hard drives:
      • of course
    boshuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    "show me state"
    Posts
    2,440

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by graysky View Post
    @aceshu - sounds good... the timings typically work best according to this formula:

    x-x-x-(3x)-(x+1)

    In other words, if x=4, they become: 4-4-4-12-5 and if x=5, they become 5-5-5-15-6 etc.
    Where did you come up with this "formula"? How did you test to see if it works better than other settings?


  10. #55
    The Boss!
    • nutcase's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • asus P6T Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core-i7 920
      • CPU clock:
      • 3900 Mhz
      • memory:
      • Patriot Viper
      • graphics:
      • Nvidia 295 GTX
      • PSU:
      • OCZ 1000W
      • Hard drives:
      • 320GB Seagate 7200.11
      • OS:
      • win XP64
    nutcase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Livermore, Ca
    Posts
    11,192
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    I would like to know also where this formula came from?

    I have been beta testing ram for over 4 years now and never seen this equation!

  11. #56
    BE Veteran
    • graysky's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • P5B-Del (pencil mod for vdroop)
      • CPU:
      • Q6600 L644G101 (lapped) @9x333; vcore=1.2625v BIOS
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.01 GHz
      • memory:
      • Ballistix DDR2-800
      • PSU:
      • Corsair EX620

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    100
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    @nutcase: One of the folks at Crucial told me that when I was asking about timings for my RAM. I found it to be pretty good in my own systems.

  12. #57
    I am a little Sneezy
    • Snafu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD5-B3
      • CPU:
      • i5 2500k
      • memory:
      • 8GB Crucial
      • graphics:
      • EVGA 560
      • PSU:
      • Corsair 750w
      • Hard drives:
      • OCZ SSD 64GB + Seagate 1TB
      • case:
      • HAF
      • OS:
      • Win7 Ultimate
    Snafu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ...don't wanna know where the other 6 are
    Posts
    14,148
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Spammer raised this thread and I wanted to confirm that the spam-o-matic is working.

    Now some food for spambots:

    User Details:
    Username: jan83fry
    User ID Number: 29646
    User E-mail: jan83fry@hotmail.com
    User Registration IP Address: 182.68.220.235
    User IP Address for Selected Post: 182.68.220.235




    Snafu
    Profile - Webpage

    You can't live life without living - me

    Nothing is that important that it must be done today as long as you will wake up tomorrow - me


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •