Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 57

Thread: HOWTO: Overclock C2Q (Quads) and C2D (Duals) - A Guide v1.4

  1. #31
    I didn't see an edge
    • NINaudio's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5K-E
      • CPU:
      • Core2Duo E8400
      • CPU clock:
      • 3825 (425*9) @ 1.33v
      • memory:
      • Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
      • graphics:
      • Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
      • PSU:
      • OCZ GameXStream 850
      • Hard drives:
      • Seagate 160 x 2 SATA Raid 1, 320 gb Seagate
      • OS:
      • Win 7 64-bit
    NINaudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,010
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    you're under warranty at anything below 2.31v with that ram.

    Here's a review I found of it:

    http://hardwarelogic.com/news/60/ART...007-03-29.html

    With timings of 4-4-4-15 and 2.2v they got near ddr2-900. Loosened to 5-5-5-15, they reached 1000mhz.


    ASUS P5K-E E8400 @ 3825 (425*9) @ 1.34v
    Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
    4gb G. Skill DDR2 1200
    GTX 560 Ti
    Asus Xonar DX -
    NEC DVD/RW ND-3540-A & 3550-A
    OCZ GameXStream 700
    Thermaltake Extreme Spirit II NB cooler
    TT Armor tower
    Win7 64 bit

  2. #32
    shubedo
    • aceshu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5B DELUXE
      • CPU:
      • E6600 CONROE
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.31GHz
      • memory:
      • 2GB Crucial PC2 8500
      • graphics:
      • BFG 7950GT OC 512MB
      • PSU:
      • PC POWER & COOLING 750W
      • Hard drives:
      • 2-WD CAVIAR 160GB 3.0SATA
      • OS:
      • XP HOME & VISTA HOME PREMIUM

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    deep south
    Posts
    62
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default Latest attemps

    This gets more confusing as I go. By the way, my board is the Asus P5B Deluxe. At a 350 FSB, I upped the ram frequency to 875, which is not the ole 1:1 thingy. Won't boot. Even loosened the timings from 4-4-4-15 to 5-5-5-15. Still no boot. The only way it will boot with anything other than a 1:1 ratio is if I set things back to factory specs which is 266 @DDR2800, making that 2:3. Setting the FSB to 320, 333, and 350, as long as any of these is a 1:1 ratio with the ram, 640,666, and 700, they all work fine. Any time I set the ram frequency higher than the 1:1, no boot. Have to switch off power supply, boot up, F1 to enter bios, and reset things to a 1:1.

  3. #33
    more voltage please
    • brian y's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5W,P5B,P5K
      • CPU:
      • E6600,E6750,Q6600
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.6GHz,3.8GHz,3.3GHz
      • memory:
      • Corsair PC8500,Crucial Ballistix PC8000,OCZ PC8500 all 2x1GB
      • graphics:
      • 7900GTKO,8800GTS 320, ATIx1600pro
      • PSU:
      • OCZ 700watt,OCZ 520watt,OCZ 500Watt
      • Hard drives:
      • all 300GB Seagate Sata3.0
      • OS:
      • WinXP and Vista
    brian y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    ATLanta
    Posts
    132
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    I would personally not worry so much about the ram speed as the clocks you are getting from your CPU. I have the P5B and have run both my E6600's at 3600MHz and my E6300 at 3500MHz no problems. The only difference was the voltage requirements with them. I am assuming you are using an aftermarket Heat sink, some decent thermal compound and proper airflow in your case to help with heat issues.

    Your first priority should be to find out how far you can push your CPU with acceptable temps. My max load at the above speed was 57~58 degrees Celsius using coretemp.

    I will show you what I use for my BIOS settings on this board when I start to OC. Remember though that while we have the same hardware that means nothing when it comes to tweaking. You can use this as a starting point to help you achieve your own OC.

    CPU: 400
    RAM: DDR2-800
    PCI: 100
    PCI Clock: 33.33
    Spread Spectrum: Disabled
    Memory: 2.25
    Vcore: 1.400
    FSB Term: 1.45
    NB: 1.65
    SB: 1.60
    ICH: Auto

    Using this basic setup in jump free config combined with the instructions related to Bios tweaks such as EIST and other related options that will free up on duties concerning your chipset, you should have no problem hitting this.( My motto is "If your not using it, DISABLE it".) If anything you will find that it will require a little bit more voltage to make the OC stable. One of my E6600's only needed 1.42v while the other needed 1.48v to achieve the same rock solid OC.

    Heck, I even found out when OCing my E6300 that it was stable at stock volts with a 500FSB.

    Also at a 400FSB you can run your memory at a 1/1 ratio that will result in stock speeds of your ram. You can either try and tighten up your timings at this point or if you have some nice sticks you can run them faster at say 1200MHz like my crucials/OCZ's do.

    btw, what BIOS are you using???

  4. #34
    I didn't see an edge
    • NINaudio's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5K-E
      • CPU:
      • Core2Duo E8400
      • CPU clock:
      • 3825 (425*9) @ 1.33v
      • memory:
      • Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
      • graphics:
      • Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
      • PSU:
      • OCZ GameXStream 850
      • Hard drives:
      • Seagate 160 x 2 SATA Raid 1, 320 gb Seagate
      • OS:
      • Win 7 64-bit
    NINaudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,010
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    That is odd aceshu... Brian Y seems to have zero'ed in on my next guess as well. Check to see if you're using the latest Bios revision.

    Edit: did you try increasing the ram voltage? You may want to try increasing the NB voltage a step up as well.


    ASUS P5K-E E8400 @ 3825 (425*9) @ 1.34v
    Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
    4gb G. Skill DDR2 1200
    GTX 560 Ti
    Asus Xonar DX -
    NEC DVD/RW ND-3540-A & 3550-A
    OCZ GameXStream 700
    Thermaltake Extreme Spirit II NB cooler
    TT Armor tower
    Win7 64 bit

  5. #35
    shubedo
    • aceshu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5B DELUXE
      • CPU:
      • E6600 CONROE
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.31GHz
      • memory:
      • 2GB Crucial PC2 8500
      • graphics:
      • BFG 7950GT OC 512MB
      • PSU:
      • PC POWER & COOLING 750W
      • Hard drives:
      • 2-WD CAVIAR 160GB 3.0SATA
      • OS:
      • XP HOME & VISTA HOME PREMIUM

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    deep south
    Posts
    62
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    I'm using bios version 0910. I upped the ram voltage to 2.25. Is it wise to up the cpu vcore to 1.4 when according to intel, voltage range is 1.18 to 1.325. So are you saying that it could be more a lack of voltage that's not allowing other than 1:1 on the other FSB's?

  6. #36
    shubedo
    • aceshu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5B DELUXE
      • CPU:
      • E6600 CONROE
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.31GHz
      • memory:
      • 2GB Crucial PC2 8500
      • graphics:
      • BFG 7950GT OC 512MB
      • PSU:
      • PC POWER & COOLING 750W
      • Hard drives:
      • 2-WD CAVIAR 160GB 3.0SATA
      • OS:
      • XP HOME & VISTA HOME PREMIUM

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    deep south
    Posts
    62
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    By the way, I haven't had heat issues so far. Max load temps in the mid 50c's. I have the Zalman 9500 cpu heatsink, artic silver grease, and plenty of air. Ram is OCZ fans cooled. What the h..l is jump free configuration and the bios tweaks you speak of?

  7. #37
    BE Veteran
    • graysky's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • P5B-Del (pencil mod for vdroop)
      • CPU:
      • Q6600 L644G101 (lapped) @9x333; vcore=1.2625v BIOS
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.01 GHz
      • memory:
      • Ballistix DDR2-800
      • PSU:
      • Corsair EX620

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    100
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aceshu View Post
    Is it wise to up the cpu vcore to 1.4 when according to intel, voltage range is 1.18 to 1.325. So are you saying that it could be more a lack of voltage that's not allowing other than 1:1 on the other FSB's? What the h..l is jump free configuration and the bios tweaks you speak of?
    To answer your 3 questions:

    1) I wouldn't do it to my hardware, but I know others are doing it. Only time will tell if it is detrimental or not.

    2) If I'm understanding your question, you wanna know if upping the memory voltage helped achieve higher memory speeds/ratios? I believe the answer is, yes. More juice is often required to hit higher numbers... I don't know if that's true for the ratios or not.

    3) Jumperfree configuration is a menu option in the P5B-Del BIOS. It just allows the user to have more control over the settings.

  8. #38
    shubedo
    • aceshu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5B DELUXE
      • CPU:
      • E6600 CONROE
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.31GHz
      • memory:
      • 2GB Crucial PC2 8500
      • graphics:
      • BFG 7950GT OC 512MB
      • PSU:
      • PC POWER & COOLING 750W
      • Hard drives:
      • 2-WD CAVIAR 160GB 3.0SATA
      • OS:
      • XP HOME & VISTA HOME PREMIUM

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    deep south
    Posts
    62
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    My bad on the jumperfree question. I've been in and out of the bios so much that i'm on auto pilot, and forget it says jumperfree configuration at the beginning of the menu. DUH!

  9. #39
    I didn't see an edge
    • NINaudio's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5K-E
      • CPU:
      • Core2Duo E8400
      • CPU clock:
      • 3825 (425*9) @ 1.33v
      • memory:
      • Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
      • graphics:
      • Gigabyte GTX 560 Ti
      • PSU:
      • OCZ GameXStream 850
      • Hard drives:
      • Seagate 160 x 2 SATA Raid 1, 320 gb Seagate
      • OS:
      • Win 7 64-bit
    NINaudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    2,010
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    1.4v on a conroe isn't so high that I'd be worried about it. In general I find myself completely comfortable within 5% over the manufacturer's stated specs and mostly comfortable up to 10% above. As long as your temps are good you shouldn't have much to worry about. I don't think the cpu voltage is your issue now though.

    Edit: Increasing NB voltages can help to stabilize the system with higher fsb's. It's also where the memory controller is on intel systems, so having the voltage too low could cause memory issues. That's why I recommended raising it a notch. I


    ASUS P5K-E E8400 @ 3825 (425*9) @ 1.34v
    Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
    4gb G. Skill DDR2 1200
    GTX 560 Ti
    Asus Xonar DX -
    NEC DVD/RW ND-3540-A & 3550-A
    OCZ GameXStream 700
    Thermaltake Extreme Spirit II NB cooler
    TT Armor tower
    Win7 64 bit

  10. #40
    shubedo
    • aceshu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5B DELUXE
      • CPU:
      • E6600 CONROE
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.31GHz
      • memory:
      • 2GB Crucial PC2 8500
      • graphics:
      • BFG 7950GT OC 512MB
      • PSU:
      • PC POWER & COOLING 750W
      • Hard drives:
      • 2-WD CAVIAR 160GB 3.0SATA
      • OS:
      • XP HOME & VISTA HOME PREMIUM

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    deep south
    Posts
    62
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    That's enough for me. I tried the 400 FSB, which gave me my 800 ram frequency back. I upped the vcore to 1.4 along with the memory to 1.230 and the NB and such to max. Wouldn't you guess? It didn't boot. So I know it'll run smooth at the 350 FSB, stock ram and voltage settings, just that ram is @ 700MHz instead of the rated 800. The memory is doing 6200's in Sandra at these settings. The only other thing i'm willing to try now is to tighten the ram timings. Thanks to all of you who've taken the time to give me a helping hand. This has been a very interesting experience and i've learned a lot with your help.

  11. #41
    more voltage please
    • brian y's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5W,P5B,P5K
      • CPU:
      • E6600,E6750,Q6600
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.6GHz,3.8GHz,3.3GHz
      • memory:
      • Corsair PC8500,Crucial Ballistix PC8000,OCZ PC8500 all 2x1GB
      • graphics:
      • 7900GTKO,8800GTS 320, ATIx1600pro
      • PSU:
      • OCZ 700watt,OCZ 520watt,OCZ 500Watt
      • Hard drives:
      • all 300GB Seagate Sata3.0
      • OS:
      • WinXP and Vista
    brian y's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    ATLanta
    Posts
    132
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    The whole reason why I suggested to start off at 400FSB is that anywhere after 360 and up to 399FSB the NB chipset struggles due the FSB strap. The current strap of 1066 is which is starting to max out around this range. When the board is booted at 400 or higher the 1333 FSB strap kicks in which kicks in so scaling at this point becomes more manageable concerning stability. If there was a setting in the BIOS like the DFI RD600 has you would be able to manipulate the strap, but it does not.

    You could also do a BESL mod on your CPU tricking the chipset into thinking that it is using a CPU with a stock FSB of 333(hence the 1333FSB Strap) to get around this......

    As for the ratios. The voltage has nothing to do with the ratios. It does have the ability to affect how fast your ram can run. The chipset determines what ratios it will work with. This is where NB voltages come in
    (If anybody remembers how weak the memory controller on the P5W was, BC of it the ram I had in there that could not go higher 1000MHz and only would run@ 1067MHz on stock FSB was able to soar to 1300MHz+ on my P5B)

    My board will run a 2/3 divider all day(3.6GHz/1200MHz) but will not boot at 3.6GHz at a 4/5 divider (3.6GHz/1000MHz).

    You will find this out when playing with your dividers and OCing your ram. You will get a better understanding of what your board can and can not do.

    As for the 1.4v being dangerous.......

    I have ran my E6600 for around 9 months straight @1.48v with both cores under load 24/7. If anything the voltage was decreased from the CPU burning in over time. It was originally at 1.52v.

    My E6600 has seen 1.9v and lives to talk about
    Does this mean that it is safe? NO

    Whenever you push anything over what it is spec'ed to do you are taking some sort of risk. But you already made that decision when you started OCing, right?

    IMO I would say that anything under 1.5v is fine. You will decrease some shelf life on your hardware, but the shelf life on a CPU is pretty dam long iirc. I have not yet heard on any of the forums of anybody killing a Core 2 with voltage @ 1.5v or below, or for that matter I don't recall hearing anybody killing a Core2 with overvolting. Yeah dead mobo's, video cards, ram etc....but no Core2's......

    In the end you are playing with your hardware and as far as OCing and voltages go it is really up to the user on how far they want to go.......some like a decent OC while others like to take it to the "BleedinEDGE"

  12. #42
    shubedo
    • aceshu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5B DELUXE
      • CPU:
      • E6600 CONROE
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.31GHz
      • memory:
      • 2GB Crucial PC2 8500
      • graphics:
      • BFG 7950GT OC 512MB
      • PSU:
      • PC POWER & COOLING 750W
      • Hard drives:
      • 2-WD CAVIAR 160GB 3.0SATA
      • OS:
      • XP HOME & VISTA HOME PREMIUM

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    deep south
    Posts
    62
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Ok, I think i'm finally starting to understand some of this. I can run FSB 350 and ram frequency @ 700 all day long (1:1) My stock cpu is 266FSB. So from 266 to 333FSB, I can run my rig @ ratios of 1:1 and 2:3. At 350FSB, a 2:3 ratio exceeds my ram's capability. No FSB will run @ 4:5. Finally, this is what I'm running. FSB 333 and got the Ram to hit 1000MHz which is 2:3. Memory bandwith in Sandra hit 6668 and 6662, highest it's ever been. Idle temps are 35c. Orthos testing @ 54c. all air cooled. I might splurge and go with PC2-8500 memory. Once again, thanks to all for the insight and advice. Couldn't have done it without you.

  13. #43
    Administrator
    • ol'norton's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P9X79
      • CPU:
      • i7 3820
      • CPU clock:
      • stock
      • memory:
      • Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 8 gig
      • graphics:
      • GTX680
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX1200
      • Hard drives:
      • Ocz IBIS 240GB / Ocz RevoDrive X2 240GB
      • OS:
      • Win 7
    ol'norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    4,771
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    If your memory can run stable at DDR2-1000. That means it won't hold back your overclocking till 9 X 500 FSB @ 1:1 That's 4500MHz.
    Obviously your cooling won't allow that. So you just raise the Vcore until your loaded temps reach 60c Settle for whatever FSB that will allow.
    Then tighten your ram timings up.
    Whether you are giving your CPU 1.4V or 1.5V doesn't matter as long as you have the cooling to keep loaded coretemps under 60c.
    A temp an E6600 with stock voltage & stock heatsink in a average case will often reach here in summer.
    An AM2 system I built at Christmas has been running 1.63V ever since & has never missed a beat in spite of seeing CoreTemps of 65C in summer.
    Ram is different. You can kill ram with just current even if it doesn't get too hot.
    If you can't get 400FSB @ 1:1 give it more Vcore & try 405FSB

  14. #44
    shubedo
    • aceshu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5B DELUXE
      • CPU:
      • E6600 CONROE
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.31GHz
      • memory:
      • 2GB Crucial PC2 8500
      • graphics:
      • BFG 7950GT OC 512MB
      • PSU:
      • PC POWER & COOLING 750W
      • Hard drives:
      • 2-WD CAVIAR 160GB 3.0SATA
      • OS:
      • XP HOME & VISTA HOME PREMIUM

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    deep south
    Posts
    62
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    That sounds easy enough, now that i've been learning this stuff for a week now. But I really don't care to push voltages past the max specs. This overclock I have now suits me just fine for what I need. Getting into overclocking was more of a learning experience to see if I could accomplish it. Thanks much for all your advice.

  15. #45
    Administrator
    • ol'norton's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P9X79
      • CPU:
      • i7 3820
      • CPU clock:
      • stock
      • memory:
      • Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 8 gig
      • graphics:
      • GTX680
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX1200
      • Hard drives:
      • Ocz IBIS 240GB / Ocz RevoDrive X2 240GB
      • OS:
      • Win 7
    ol'norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    4,771
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    No worries, If you've settled on 350FSB, Then I would put the ram on DDR2-800 ( for DDR2-875 ) You would be able to run that at 4-4-4-12 @ 2.1V or 2.2V
    I had that same ram in My AM2 4600+ @ DDR2-967 with only 2.1V, but I had to drop the cas# to 5. Stable after many hours dual Prime & rthdribl.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •