Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 96

Thread: Post your current Intel CPU and Overclock here

  1. #46
    Administrator
    • ol'norton's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P9X79
      • CPU:
      • i7 3820
      • CPU clock:
      • stock
      • memory:
      • Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 8 gig
      • graphics:
      • GTX680
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX1200
      • Hard drives:
      • Ocz IBIS 240GB / Ocz RevoDrive X2 240GB
      • OS:
      • Win 7
    ol'norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    4,771
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    I can't remember what voltage JL was using. And with him having a million posts it's very hard to find his old stuff.
    I used 1.6v to get 4215MHz on water. JL got that time on a Very cold day.



    No one is suggesting that an Aircooled 4123MHz is Orthos stable or his 3-3-3-8 @ 400MHz either for that matter.
    But you don't need to be Orthos stable to run Super Pi. So your memory may just do that as well.

    Shimmishim spends a lot of time try to improve his 1m time @ 3600MHz, where tweaking & memory timings are more important than Vcore.
    Much rejoicing when he broke 14 seconds. He may have done that on a Badaxe 2, It's hard to keep up with all his board changing.
    I suggested a simple competition where everyone used the same CPU speed, but the idea went down like a lead zepplin.
    Last edited by ol'norton; 09-14-2007 at 09:13 PM.

  2. #47
    Mmm, dancing Boobys!
    • Just Learnin''s Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • EVGA Classified (760)
      • CPU:
      • i7 920
      • CPU clock:
      • 4GHz
      • memory:
      • 6GB G.SKILL F3-12800CL8-2GBHK
      • graphics:
      • 2x EVGA GTX 580 SC
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 1000
      • Hard drives:
      • Intel 160GB 320 series SSD, 300GB WD Raptor, 2X Seagate 7200.11
      • case:
      • Custom aluminum checkerplate, http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/showthread.php/33698-Case-dimensions
      • OS:
      • Win 7 64 bit
    Just Learnin''s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Posts
    14,932
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    A MILLION posts!

    Quote Originally Posted by rscl View Post
    I have never booted on higher MHz than 3600 MHz, and SuperPI states that best 1M speed calculated 14.141, although I'll never beat just learning... his memorys can run 3-3-3-8 on DDR2-800. cheat
    Hey I resemble that remark!
    Last edited by Just Learnin'; 09-14-2007 at 09:59 PM.

  3. #48
    BE Member
    • Ian's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Evga 680i
      • CPU:
      • Q6600
      • CPU clock:
      • 4050
      • memory:
      • OCZ2FX11502GK
      • graphics:
      • XFX 8800 GTX SLI
      • PSU:
      • PC P&C 1100 SR
      • Hard drives:
      • I-RAM / WD740GD x2 RAID0 / WD4000YR
      • OS:
      • WinXP for Gaming and benching / Vista for home Office
    Ian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    49
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    What no Quad's?
    my old 680i A1 board and I have been through some wars, but since it's unfortunate demise this morning I thought I'd better post something in it's memory lol


    &


    Gone forever


    But the Q6600 lives on
    Last edited by Ian; 10-12-2007 at 01:04 PM.

  4. #49
    BE Member
    • Ian's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Evga 680i
      • CPU:
      • Q6600
      • CPU clock:
      • 4050
      • memory:
      • OCZ2FX11502GK
      • graphics:
      • XFX 8800 GTX SLI
      • PSU:
      • PC P&C 1100 SR
      • Hard drives:
      • I-RAM / WD740GD x2 RAID0 / WD4000YR
      • OS:
      • WinXP for Gaming and benching / Vista for home Office
    Ian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    49
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Yikes, huge pictures! sorry will work on that one..

    That's better

  5. #50
    Benching Moderator
    • harleybro's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5K Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • X6800 ES & QX6850 ES GO enroute!!
      • CPU clock:
      • 5.2gig X6800
      • memory:
      • Cellshock 2x1gig, Corasair UL5400 2x512, Mushkin redline xp4000+
      • graphics:
      • 8800GTX
      • PSU:
      • Ultra X3 1000W
      • Hard drives:
      • various
      • OS:
      • Vista////depends on the bench
    harleybro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    3,340
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Nice stuff Ian Next time for 1M you'll have to give it a go using 1 core.

    I suggested a simple competition where everyone used the same CPU speed, but the idea went down like a lead zepplin.
    I missed where you suggested that but have been thinking of putting up a stickied thread as I have seen on other forums.

  6. #51
    BE Member
    • Ian's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Evga 680i
      • CPU:
      • Q6600
      • CPU clock:
      • 4050
      • memory:
      • OCZ2FX11502GK
      • graphics:
      • XFX 8800 GTX SLI
      • PSU:
      • PC P&C 1100 SR
      • Hard drives:
      • I-RAM / WD740GD x2 RAID0 / WD4000YR
      • OS:
      • WinXP for Gaming and benching / Vista for home Office
    Ian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    49
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Ok thanks for the heads up on the one core, does that apply for all SuperPI runs?

  7. #52
    Benching Moderator
    • harleybro's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5K Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • X6800 ES & QX6850 ES GO enroute!!
      • CPU clock:
      • 5.2gig X6800
      • memory:
      • Cellshock 2x1gig, Corasair UL5400 2x512, Mushkin redline xp4000+
      • graphics:
      • 8800GTX
      • PSU:
      • Ultra X3 1000W
      • Hard drives:
      • various
      • OS:
      • Vista////depends on the bench
    harleybro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    3,340
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian View Post
    Ok thanks for the heads up on the one core, does that apply for all SuperPI runs?
    Yup booting up with one core only will normally allow you to oc higher also.

  8. #53
    Mmm, dancing Boobys!
    • Just Learnin''s Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • EVGA Classified (760)
      • CPU:
      • i7 920
      • CPU clock:
      • 4GHz
      • memory:
      • 6GB G.SKILL F3-12800CL8-2GBHK
      • graphics:
      • 2x EVGA GTX 580 SC
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 1000
      • Hard drives:
      • Intel 160GB 320 series SSD, 300GB WD Raptor, 2X Seagate 7200.11
      • case:
      • Custom aluminum checkerplate, http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/showthread.php/33698-Case-dimensions
      • OS:
      • Win 7 64 bit
    Just Learnin''s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Posts
    14,932
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Find which is your best core by running it with the affinity set to each one and see what you get. Usually there is a stronger one, stable at higher FSB or what have you. Also try setting the priority in Task Manager to Realtime as well with SuperPi open and ready to run. You can also kill explorer.exe before the run and reopen Task Manager after by hitting ctrl-alt-del and click the applications tab and click New Task at the bottom right and type explorer and click OK, voila, desktop is back!

    It can be effective in 32M as well but you may not be able to make it through on Real Time, experiment.

    Also try running SuperPi in windows Diagnostic Mode. Gets rid of a lot of uneeded services.

  9. #54
    14 year old OCer
    • wh1tew0lf's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus M2N MX SE
      • memory:
      • 2gb something
      • graphics:
      • Onboard
      • OS:
      • Windows XP sp 2

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    36
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    i have a pentium 4 1.7Ghz and 1Gb pc133 RAM, and the CPU is currently running at 2.04 with a standard heatsink and fan, and the ram is running at 160Mhz or something. Gonna put some more fans in now and see how it works. see ya people

  10. #55

    Default

    Intel C2D e6320 1.86ghz @ 3.5ghz
    zalman cnps9700nt cooler
    nvidia 780i


  11. #56
    OC er till it Burns
    • Subsider's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P6T delx v2
      • CPU:
      • i7 930
      • CPU clock:
      • 4 GHz
      • memory:
      • 6 gig OCZ 8 8 8 24
      • graphics:
      • evga 470 GTX
      • PSU:
      • PC P&C 750w
      • Hard drives:
      • 2X400gig Seagate 7200.10 in Raid 0
      • OS:
      • yep 64 bit
    Subsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    1,785
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Nice OC rickieroo and to the Bleedin Edge
    6700K@ 4800Mhz max 4700Mhz Daily - Asus Maximus 8 Hero Alpha ,
    16G GSkill 3200 cl14 ,
    M.2 950 Pro and 850 Evo HD's ,
    Evga 1080 GTX - 2x Asus 24" 2ms ,
    1050w Seasonic Plat. psu , Cpu - H2O Cooled

    HTPC: 9550 @ 3000Mhz - Asus P5Q Delx - 4gig OCZ Reaper @ 1130 MHZ - Asus 4890 - HD's -1x Raptor OS 2x WD 1 TB - 700w TT mod psu - 46" Sony KDL XBR9 -Yamaha RX-V1900




  12. #57
    Mmm, dancing Boobys!
    • Just Learnin''s Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • EVGA Classified (760)
      • CPU:
      • i7 920
      • CPU clock:
      • 4GHz
      • memory:
      • 6GB G.SKILL F3-12800CL8-2GBHK
      • graphics:
      • 2x EVGA GTX 580 SC
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 1000
      • Hard drives:
      • Intel 160GB 320 series SSD, 300GB WD Raptor, 2X Seagate 7200.11
      • case:
      • Custom aluminum checkerplate, http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/showthread.php/33698-Case-dimensions
      • OS:
      • Win 7 64 bit
    Just Learnin''s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    Posts
    14,932
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Very nice on air and then some rickieroo! Welcome to the BE.

  13. #58

    Default Old Hat

    Hi Everyone, this is the second Intel chip I have played around with - the first was a PIII I got with my first PC.

    I was given an old HP pre built system to fix a while ago. As far as I could figure the MB was shot. I tried a new battery; however the tech in the shop I went in gave me a battery for free; which he had taken from, what he said was a new MB & fresh, I tried this batt with no luck & chucked the board. It turns out later neither batteries had much juice, so that still could have been the problem; but that's by the by.

    So I purchased a new board, the "ASRock P4VM890" Micro ATX board. I like ASRock Motherboards & have purchased a number of them over the years. I also bought an ASUS EAX 1550 Graphics card, a Gig of DDR 333 Ram; to go with the 256MB already there, a samsung DVD RW & a very nice cooler master Analogue [Blue Light] Display. I ripped off most of the front, & a load of the stupid plastic they put on HP cases, I blacked out the rest of the front & put in some white mesh, the Analogue dials, & the DVD RW. I also cut a hole in the side & put in a 120mm akasa fan, as before the only case cooling was coming from the PSU. I also changed the heatsink fan & put the old fan over a hole on the bottom of the case - to assist cooling as well. The DVD RW then died, it didn't seem to work properly from the start - so I replaced it with the original DVD ROM.

    I have overclocked the CPU [Intel Celeron 330 -Prescott] - To run at a fraction over 3GHZ, anything over & the chip starts screeching, which seems most unusual, it is definitely the CPU, & not the RAM. Anything over the 150FSB & I get the noise, but anyway I'm happy with the OC, & the chip is stable with temp - idle 46c load max 60c - on stock cooling. These chips seem to run hot. There is unfortunately no BIOS option to up the V-Core. I have also OC'd the Graphics to run at the fastest setting the bundled software [SmartDoctor] Will allow. I have been recently using ATI Tool to get the overclock higher.

    The HD is good, but only 40GB!. I partitioned it & split in two, I put win 2000 Proff SP4 on the 1st; but although running OK it wasn't 100% stable & would occasionally freeze. I think that the problem is more windows than anything. I have got hold of a copy of Vista Ultimate Edition & installed on the second partition. It is running great. However, with all the updates, a few pieces of assorted software - it has left only 3.6GB of room from the 20GB. This is OK for the most part of what I use the PC for.

    Some Pictures;





    Last edited by Apotheosis; 03-26-2008 at 03:48 AM. Reason: Title

  14. #59
    Benching Moderator
    • harleybro's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5K Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • X6800 ES & QX6850 ES GO enroute!!
      • CPU clock:
      • 5.2gig X6800
      • memory:
      • Cellshock 2x1gig, Corasair UL5400 2x512, Mushkin redline xp4000+
      • graphics:
      • 8800GTX
      • PSU:
      • Ultra X3 1000W
      • Hard drives:
      • various
      • OS:
      • Vista////depends on the bench
    harleybro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    3,340
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Great job! As for the screaching I would believe it to be a choke on the motherboard more then the cpu. What do you have for a power supply? MAybe the power supply is stressing? Either way nice job and way to make it something of your own and differant.

  15. #60
    OC er till it Burns
    • Subsider's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P6T delx v2
      • CPU:
      • i7 930
      • CPU clock:
      • 4 GHz
      • memory:
      • 6 gig OCZ 8 8 8 24
      • graphics:
      • evga 470 GTX
      • PSU:
      • PC P&C 750w
      • Hard drives:
      • 2X400gig Seagate 7200.10 in Raid 0
      • OS:
      • yep 64 bit
    Subsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Rochester NY
    Posts
    1,785
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Nice Apotheosis ! Harley is probly correct about the choke being the cause of the squealing . If the PSU checks ok with MM but is old/used you might want to carefully open it up and blow the dust out of it . dont touch anything inside the psu , just use a vacum or compressed air .

    Quote Originally Posted by ol'norton
    I suggested a simple competition where everyone used the same CPU speed, but the idea went down like a lead zepplin.
    I like Led zepplin and competition
    6700K@ 4800Mhz max 4700Mhz Daily - Asus Maximus 8 Hero Alpha ,
    16G GSkill 3200 cl14 ,
    M.2 950 Pro and 850 Evo HD's ,
    Evga 1080 GTX - 2x Asus 24" 2ms ,
    1050w Seasonic Plat. psu , Cpu - H2O Cooled

    HTPC: 9550 @ 3000Mhz - Asus P5Q Delx - 4gig OCZ Reaper @ 1130 MHZ - Asus 4890 - HD's -1x Raptor OS 2x WD 1 TB - 700w TT mod psu - 46" Sony KDL XBR9 -Yamaha RX-V1900




Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •