Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 96

Thread: Post your current Intel CPU and Overclock here

  1. #31
    BE Member
    • trt740's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte 965p-DS3
      • CPU:
      • E6600
      • CPU clock:
      • 8x438 at 1.47v or 3.5 ghz
      • memory:
      • 2 gigs Gskill DDR800 running at DDR 1180 555152t 2.35v
      • graphics:
      • Foxconn 8800gts 320 mb 575/1800mghz
      • PSU:
      • OCZ Game Stream 650w
      • Hard drives:
      • 80gig Maxtor 7200 rpm/20 gig 7200 rmp Segate Barrac
      • OS:
      • Windows Xp home
    trt740's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    14
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Guys I had a e6600 I could get up to 4.005 ghz and super PI it every day clock was 3.6ghz at 1.475v. I sold it with the intention of getting a q6600 but since most being sold for the next few months are still b3 chips I decided to wait and I bought a e6700 b2 stepping for 235.00 shipped to hold me over. What is the max every day clock I should exspect on air I have a Scythe infinty air cooler with dual 120 fans on it and a EVGA 680i nf68 A1 motherboard. Is 4.0ghz realistic 10x400 for everyday use on this chip. Also how does it compare to a e6850 which only has a 9 multiplier but has G0 stepping. Any ideas.

  2. #32
    Contained Chaos
    • RoachBurn's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8 Z68-V Pro 1155
      • CPU:
      • 2600K
      • memory:
      • 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws
      • graphics:
      • BFG GTX 275 OC 896MB
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX850
      • Hard drives:
      • 1x WD 500gb SATA2 16MB
      • case:
      • HAF 932
      • OS:
      • Windows 7 32-bit
    RoachBurn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Canaduh
    Posts
    717
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    My OC sucks

    Insanity saves us all!

  3. #33
    Administrator
    • ol'norton's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P9X79
      • CPU:
      • i7 3820
      • CPU clock:
      • stock
      • memory:
      • Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 8 gig
      • graphics:
      • GTX680
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX1200
      • Hard drives:
      • Ocz IBIS 240GB / Ocz RevoDrive X2 240GB
      • OS:
      • Win 7
    ol'norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    4,771
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Is that with stock HSF?

  4. #34
    Contained Chaos
    • RoachBurn's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P8 Z68-V Pro 1155
      • CPU:
      • 2600K
      • memory:
      • 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws
      • graphics:
      • BFG GTX 275 OC 896MB
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX850
      • Hard drives:
      • 1x WD 500gb SATA2 16MB
      • case:
      • HAF 932
      • OS:
      • Windows 7 32-bit
    RoachBurn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Canaduh
    Posts
    717
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Yeah, I wanna get a Thermaltake 120 Ultra Extreme but stupid NCIX doesn't carry constant stock anymore so they don't list it as avail.
    Insanity saves us all!

  5. #35
    Supercomputin'
    • buzh's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5B
      • CPU:
      • Core2 Duo E6400
      • CPU clock:
      • 3,2GHz
      • memory:
      • Geil PC2-6400 CL4 "ultra"
      • PSU:
      • bZerk 450W

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Oslo
    Posts
    42

    Default



    Can't push it anymore, or memtest -freezes- (not fails)

    Any suggestions on how to push it further are appreceated
    --
    Buzh

  6. #36
    Rise, Rebel, Resist....
    • huncherman's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • GA-EP45-UD3P
      • CPU:
      • Q9650
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.6 Ghz
      • memory:
      • 2x2gig Mushkin Redline
      • graphics:
      • Sapphire HD 4870 1GB Toxic
      • PSU:
      • Corsair 750TX
      • OS:
      • Windows 7 Home Premium
    huncherman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Posts
    805
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    That's an awesome low-voltage overclock (if vcore on CPU-Z is correct). As for advice, would need a little more info on what you have tried to push it further. You may have hit your FSB limit, either chip or motherboard.

  7. #37
    Supercomputin'
    • buzh's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5B
      • CPU:
      • Core2 Duo E6400
      • CPU clock:
      • 3,2GHz
      • memory:
      • Geil PC2-6400 CL4 "ultra"
      • PSU:
      • bZerk 450W

    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Oslo
    Posts
    42

    Default

    Aww, turns out it wasn't too stable..

    Anyway, I've made a new thread here:
    http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/sho...d.php?p=234488

    with complete specs and all the gritty details for your amusement!

    PS: The voltage in the above screenshot is not correct, cpu-z seems to only report the rated voltage on C2Ds, not the current voltage.
    --
    Buzh

  8. #38
    BE Member
    • 1Avatar's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5Q
      • CPU:
      • Q9550 Quad Core
      • CPU clock:
      • 3500
      • memory:
      • 4x2GB Corsair Dominator
      • graphics:
      • Nvidia 9800GTx
      • PSU:
      • PC Power & Cooling 750 SLI
      • Hard drives:
      • (4x) Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA II

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Calgary Canada
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Well, it seems to have all been worked out now






  9. #39
    BE Member
    • rscl's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel(R) Bad Axe 2 (Rev. 505)
      • CPU:
      • Intel(R) Core 2 Duo E6600 (L639F)
      • CPU clock:
      • 3600 MHz
      • memory:
      • Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4
      • graphics:
      • GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 620W
      • Hard drives:
      • 1x Western Digital Raptor 74GB, 2x Samsung SpinPoint T166 500GB
      • OS:
      • Microsoft(R) Windows XP Professional SP2

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    For XBX2 users:
    vCore: 1.600V in BIOS, 1.57V actual (idle), 1.55-1.56V (load)
    vFSB: 1.375V
    vMCH: 1.600V
    vDimm: 2.12V

    Mem won't OC another MHz above stock, this is the end


  10. #40
    Administrator
    • ol'norton's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P9X79
      • CPU:
      • i7 3820
      • CPU clock:
      • stock
      • memory:
      • Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 8 gig
      • graphics:
      • GTX680
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX1200
      • Hard drives:
      • Ocz IBIS 240GB / Ocz RevoDrive X2 240GB
      • OS:
      • Win 7
    ol'norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    4,771
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    I'm having a little trouble believing you got the only set of C4's that won't go over DDR-800.

    I've never had a Badaxe 2, so maybe someone here who has can help us out. But try this:
    Put your VDimm up to 2.225V
    Your Memory on 5-5-5-18
    Your "Reference Frequency MHz" on 333
    Your "Memory Frequency MHz" on 800
    And your "Host Bus Frequency MHz" (FSB) on 370
    If that boots (& my calculations are correct) your memory should be on DDR-888 (5:6 ratio) Then just creep your FSB up & see how close you get to DDR-960.

  11. #41
    BE Member
    • rscl's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel(R) Bad Axe 2 (Rev. 505)
      • CPU:
      • Intel(R) Core 2 Duo E6600 (L639F)
      • CPU clock:
      • 3600 MHz
      • memory:
      • Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4
      • graphics:
      • GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 620W
      • Hard drives:
      • 1x Western Digital Raptor 74GB, 2x Samsung SpinPoint T166 500GB
      • OS:
      • Microsoft(R) Windows XP Professional SP2

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Thumbs up

    thanks for your advice,
    I have not tried the 1333 nb strap, but setting ref 333 and 800 mem will decrease performance no longer making it worthwile to reach DDR-960 5-5-5-18 for example.

    At least when I tried 1:1 on 400 FSB with both 1066 and 1333 strap, the performance difference were quite large.

    I have given up on that issue, going to get new mems in the future... thanks for your interest in my problem though.

  12. #42
    Administrator
    • ol'norton's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P9X79
      • CPU:
      • i7 3820
      • CPU clock:
      • stock
      • memory:
      • Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 8 gig
      • graphics:
      • GTX680
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX1200
      • Hard drives:
      • Ocz IBIS 240GB / Ocz RevoDrive X2 240GB
      • OS:
      • Win 7
    ol'norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    4,771
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Sorry I thought you meant your memory couldn't go over 800MHz, as apposed to not being worth it.
    Even if you could get to DDR2-1004 on the 266 strap, I think you would take a hit. The 975 boards seem to like 1:1 ratio & cas# 4.

    I got under 12 seconds on a 975 board with PC-8500, in spite of the fact the memory could run tighter & faster. I got my best time with 1:1 & 4-4-4-10

    And 'Just Learnin' got this incredible aircooled score with PC-6400 ram.
    At the time I looked around a lot & couldn't find a better air or watercooled time with 4123MHz. Including well known overclockers with the same board & CPU & using PC-9200.
    The chipset becomes a bottleneck & you can't use the extra memory performance.

    [/QUOTE]

  13. #43
    BE Member
    • rscl's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel(R) Bad Axe 2 (Rev. 505)
      • CPU:
      • Intel(R) Core 2 Duo E6600 (L639F)
      • CPU clock:
      • 3600 MHz
      • memory:
      • Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4
      • graphics:
      • GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 620W
      • Hard drives:
      • 1x Western Digital Raptor 74GB, 2x Samsung SpinPoint T166 500GB
      • OS:
      • Microsoft(R) Windows XP Professional SP2

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    I'm doing 14.1xx at SuperPI at 3600MHz, I suppose that is ok.

  14. #44
    Administrator
    • ol'norton's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P9X79
      • CPU:
      • i7 3820
      • CPU clock:
      • stock
      • memory:
      • Corsair CMZ16GX3M4A1600C9 8 gig
      • graphics:
      • GTX680
      • PSU:
      • Corsair AX1200
      • Hard drives:
      • Ocz IBIS 240GB / Ocz RevoDrive X2 240GB
      • OS:
      • Win 7
    ol'norton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    4,771
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    That is excellent for settings that are Orthos stable.
    See if you can catch Just Learnin's 3600MHz time. 975 board & PC-6400 ram


  15. #45
    BE Member
    • rscl's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Intel(R) Bad Axe 2 (Rev. 505)
      • CPU:
      • Intel(R) Core 2 Duo E6600 (L639F)
      • CPU clock:
      • 3600 MHz
      • memory:
      • Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4
      • graphics:
      • GeForce 8800GTS 640MB
      • PSU:
      • Corsair HX 620W
      • Hard drives:
      • 1x Western Digital Raptor 74GB, 2x Samsung SpinPoint T166 500GB
      • OS:
      • Microsoft(R) Windows XP Professional SP2

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    I have never booted on higher MHz than 3600 MHz, and SuperPI states that best 1M speed calculated 14.141, although I'll never beat just learning... his memorys can run 3-3-3-8 on DDR2-800. cheat

    edit: what voltage did he use to get 4100MHz on air? I don't want to say it's all lies but I refuse to believe it's Orthos stable on 4100MHz with reasonable temps (below 70C) on air.

    I had 43C on load with stock vcore and 266 MHz and I consider that godlike, 63C @ 1.56V (load, vdroop from 1.57) at 3.6GHz. I can't reach any higher speeds without higher voltages which the XBX2 won't provide me. Maybe his CPU does not need as much voltage tho, I dunno. would be interesting to know at least
    Last edited by rscl; 09-14-2007 at 02:31 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •