Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Q&A's for crossfire

  1. #1
    Benching Moderator
    • harleybro's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5K Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • X6800 ES & QX6850 ES GO enroute!!
      • CPU clock:
      • 5.2gig X6800
      • memory:
      • Cellshock 2x1gig, Corasair UL5400 2x512, Mushkin redline xp4000+
      • graphics:
      • 8800GTX
      • PSU:
      • Ultra X3 1000W
      • Hard drives:
      • various
      • OS:
      • Vista////depends on the bench
    harleybro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    3,340
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default Q&A's for crossfire

    First of all maybe a mod would sticky this. Hopefully more of the bugs will be worked out in the future or the true crossfire motherboards won't be as much of a problem. I am using the ASUS P5WD2 Premium on which I finally got my 2 x850xt's running in crossfire. Guess it would have been quicker reading the direction booklet w/ the cards.

    All yesterday I had been plagued with error messages from catalyst control center. I finally assumed it was something I tweaked in the OS. This morning I started with a new OS install then loaded the drivers and ccc. Funny thing was now I had read the directions but couldn't and didn't see the box where you would enable crossfire.

    After another few hours of playing around I removed the master card and ran just the slave which I didn't realize I needed to load the drivers for that also. Once the drivers where in place the system was set back up w/ dual cards and I was under way.

    I DL'd the newest version of ATI Tool. which appeared to have a box to select which card you wanted to clock but every time I OC'd one then went to the screen to choose the other I would back out to the OC screen only to find the clocks I set for the previous card. Seems like I am only able to OC one card.

    I know the crossfire system is new to the market but just wondering if anyone has seen any oc tools that work. BTW the purpose of stickying this would be to have one thread for q&a's instead of a new one for each problem.
    Last edited by Snafu; 11-07-2005 at 04:30 AM.

  2. #2
    BE Defined
    • boshuter's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • P5WD2 Premium, DFI 975 X/G
      • CPU:
      • 950ES, E6700ES
      • CPU clock:
      • 950ES@5.6ghz, E6700ES@???
      • memory:
      • 2X512 Corsair PC5400UL
      • graphics:
      • X800pro, X1800XT, X1900XTX
      • PSU:
      • 2 X Antec 550
      • Hard drives:
      • of course
    boshuter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    "show me state"
    Posts
    2,440

    Default

    I was reading the thread by nutcase and he said he got his cards overclocked, but it wasn't clear if he did both cards or how he actually did it.


  3. #3
    The Boss!
    • nutcase's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • asus P6T Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core-i7 920
      • CPU clock:
      • 3900 Mhz
      • memory:
      • Patriot Viper
      • graphics:
      • Nvidia 295 GTX
      • PSU:
      • OCZ 1000W
      • Hard drives:
      • 320GB Seagate 7200.11
      • OS:
      • win XP64
    nutcase's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Livermore, Ca
    Posts
    11,226
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    I am using atitool beta 7 or beta 8.. it would work, but I would have to save a setting for each card..

    also, on mine the card in PCI slot 3 came out to be the slave card and the one in PCI slot 4 was the master card..

    Most of the people overclocking crossfire are actually going into the bios and changing the speeds there..

    Also, on mine, the tools to use to overclock (find Max mem and core, and scan for artifacts) were useless on the master Card. It was showing my core running 700Mhz on Air before the system locked up

  4. #4
    Benching Moderator
    • harleybro's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Asus P5K Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • X6800 ES & QX6850 ES GO enroute!!
      • CPU clock:
      • 5.2gig X6800
      • memory:
      • Cellshock 2x1gig, Corasair UL5400 2x512, Mushkin redline xp4000+
      • graphics:
      • 8800GTX
      • PSU:
      • Ultra X3 1000W
      • Hard drives:
      • various
      • OS:
      • Vista////depends on the bench
    harleybro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    3,340
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Hey thanks nutcase. Currently I think I have version 0.24 I'll have to give the beta a go. Changing the bios for each cooling medium will be a real pita if they don't get a good working oc tool. At least the beta should help with my fan problem. When I had the fan set to 100% it stopped when I set it to 0% it runs full bore.

  5. #5
    Member On The Edge
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,476

    Default

    If this is stickied, and to avoid numerous queries, I would suggest identifying the products properly and also the drivers used, just so we have a clear idea of what is being tested, the results and outcomes. As such:

    Master Card x 850 XT from ( Sapphire - or who ever ) in slot Pci-e = 3 or what ever
    Slave Card x 850 or 850 XT or 850 XT PE or 800 GTO˛ from ( XXXX) in slot XXXXX

    GFX Driver used: Catalys 5.10 or 5.10a or 5.11beta or 5.11 final ( in a week or so)

    Mobo used and mobo drivers used. xxxxxxx


    Overclocking/monitoring tools used and version number
    BB_One.... Out !
    _________________________________
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D bios 704-2BT
    A64 Clawhammer 4000+ @ 2750MHz or 2835Mhz depending on mem
    OCZ EL DDR PC-3200 Gold VX
    OCZ EL Platinum 4800 Elite Edition
    Sapphire Radeon X850XT PE ~ 585/630
    OCZ PowerStream 520W

    ---------------------------------------

  6. #6
    BE Member
    • Forsaken1's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI ICFX3200
      • CPU:
      • X6800,E6600,E6400
      • CPU clock:
      • Searching
      • memory:
      • Team 2x1gb 800Mhz
      • graphics:
      • ATI x1900 CFE Single card
      • PSU:
      • Ocz GameXtream 850 watt
      • Hard drives:
      • Raptor 74

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    95
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    I have 2 ATI x1900 CrossFire Edtion cards.The price was good,so i bought two.Is there a possibilty to run these in croosfire mode?Maybe flash bios?My intial plan was to sell the other one but.....

    Thx

  7. #7
    I have returned
    • DaveT's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Abit AW9D-Max
      • CPU:
      • E6600
      • CPU clock:
      • 3530 daily
      • memory:
      • OCZ 2gig PC 8500 SLI
      • graphics:
      • 7900GTX
      • PSU:
      • OCZ GameXstream 600
      • Hard drives:
      • Hitachi 250 gig SataII
    DaveT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Arkadelphia, AR
    Posts
    2,537
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    i dont think you can run 2 crossfire control cards....they are physically different
    Soon to be back to benching, and from now on all my benching will be for BE


  8. #8
    BE Member
    • Forsaken1's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • DFI ICFX3200
      • CPU:
      • X6800,E6600,E6400
      • CPU clock:
      • Searching
      • memory:
      • Team 2x1gb 800Mhz
      • graphics:
      • ATI x1900 CFE Single card
      • PSU:
      • Ocz GameXtream 850 watt
      • Hard drives:
      • Raptor 74

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    95
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    It appears the dongle cable will work between these two cards,x1900 CFE.I am thinking a bios flash from a regular x1900xt into one of my x1900 CFE may work.Maybe ill just sell it and remove the headache.

  9. #9
    888
    • Shredder's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5W DH Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • 2.66 QX6700 Kentsfield
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.02
      • memory:
      • OCZ PC2-6400 Gold GX XTC
      • graphics:
      • XTX1900X , 1900XCF
      • PSU:
      • FSP Epsilon 700 Watt
      • Hard drives:
      • Barracuda 7200.10 SATA

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    7
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default Stable ATI drivers

    Hi all, I was wondering which ATI driver you folks have found to be the best for operating and OCing the crossfires. I havent had much luck in getting decent results with the six different versions I have tried out. Presently running 6.14.10.0314 after a brief chat with Nutcase.
    I downloaded the ATI flash program in hopes of flashing the bios(s) to at a minimum control the fan speeds so they down burn up surfing the net , I didnt find the program that reads the factory bios to modify. Any help would be great.

    P5W DH Deluxe, 1801 Bios, Sapphire xtx1900x @ 0x7249 R580,Bus 5,Dev:0 and Sapphire 1900x CF @ 0x7249 R580,Bus 6,Dev:0 ATI tool 0.26 for fan control and tame overclocking. Version 6.14.10.0314 for drivers on both cards.

  10. #10
    888
    • Shredder's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • ASUS P5W DH Deluxe
      • CPU:
      • 2.66 QX6700 Kentsfield
      • CPU clock:
      • 3.02
      • memory:
      • OCZ PC2-6400 Gold GX XTC
      • graphics:
      • XTX1900X , 1900XCF
      • PSU:
      • FSP Epsilon 700 Watt
      • Hard drives:
      • Barracuda 7200.10 SATA

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    7
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default Update

    Changed the motherboard to Asus Blitz Edition and running CAT ver 8.432.
    Ati tool 0.26 worked great for finding the Maxs.
    Used Ati flash to transfere values from ati tool to the cards themselves.

    Dynamic Fan control 0 c = 36%
    40 c = 45%
    50 c = 50%
    55 c = 59%
    60 c = 73%
    65 c = 100%
    70 c = 100%
    75 c = 100%

    1900CF @ 621/720
    X1900XTX @ 729/783

    Auto temperature control that means something was the end result with a mellow OC on each of the cards.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •