Page 1 of 8 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 107

Thread: DFI Admits 5Volt Vdimm Problem

  1. #1
    BE Member topboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    85

    Exclamation DFI Admits 5Volt Vdimm Problem

    :!: Hot News :!:


    If some of you are not aware, the DFI Nforce 4 Ultra/D/DR SLI models has a jumper setting onboard that allows you to increase the voltage supplied on the Vdimm feed from 3.3 volts to 5 volts. This will give users the option to supply more than 3.2 volts to the ram on their DFI motherboards.

    As an example, OCZ VX, Mushkin Redline and other UTT based ram products use this extra voltage to obtain tighter timings with overclocked settings.

    I had been having major issues with this board and the 5 volt Vdimm setting, to the point where 1 of my boards has died and is now back with DFI for RMA.

    This prompted me to contact DFI technical support in the USA.

    I just spoke to Frank Wong at DFI USA about the major problems people are getting with the 5Volt Vdimm jumper setting on these motherboards.

    His response was very disturbing.

    Mr Wong basically informed me that DFI R&D in Taiwan know about this issue and have been testing this jumper setting with many different major ram modules. He told me that the 5 volt setting is causing and i quote "Major Issues".

    Mr Wong went on to say that DFI's R&D in Taiwan recommended to him that the 5 volt jumper be set to the default 3.3 volt setting on the board while the problem exsists.

    Mr Wong also said "At this time they do not have a fix for this problem. Our R&D has also found that the Vdimm jumper when set to 5 volts can cause some of the motherboard chipsets to blow"

    So there we have it straight from the horses mouth.

    If you own 1 of these boards and have the jumper set to 5 volts, DFI Tech support in the USA recommend changing it back to the 3.3 volt setting until DFI R&D in Taiwan can fix the problem.

    I would like to thank Mr Frank Wong from DFI USA Technical support for sharing this information with me. This is how a good company should operate "Communication with its users".

    So once again thank you Frank, keep up the great work and lets hope DFI come up with a fix soon.



    Paul "Topboy" North
    Last edited by topboy; 05-27-2005 at 06:24 AM.

  2. #2
    Member On The Edge eva2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    2,979

    Default

    dam you sure... been running 5v jumper some times with no probs so far

  3. #3
    BE Member topboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    85

    Default

    As the post reads this is quoted straight from DFI via a tech support telephone conversation i had with them...and yeah i could not belive my ears when i heard him tell me

  4. #4
    I'm back lol
    • dr_hardware's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Foxconn BloodRage
      • CPU:
      • Intel Core i7 Extreme 965
      • CPU clock:
      • 4400MHz
      • memory:
      • 3* Micron D9GTR 1GB DIMMs
      • graphics:
      • nVIDIA GeForce GTX 285 SLI
      • PSU:
      • OCZ Modded ProXStream 1000W E.S.
      • Hard drives:
      • OS @ Mtron SSD RAID, Storage @ Samsung F1 1TB's RAID6
      • OS:
      • Windows XP SP3
    dr_hardware's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    S.H., CA
    Posts
    719
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    Great news !!!
    LOL

    Can't wait to read their excuses, or their latest news concerning this issue.
    Guess who's back

  5. #5
    Damn...... I'm Lost Popcicle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Medina, Tx. Pop. 87
    Posts
    9

    Default

    When this is posted by OSKAR WU himself rather than one of the
    tech boys then I'll become a believer.


    Pops.
    ....i'm much too young to be this damn old....



    My Mail
    Heatware

  6. #6
    BE Member topboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Do you really think Oskar Wu is going to come on here and bash his own board....I think not.

    All i am stateing here is the coversation i have just had with DFI's Technical support.

    I feel it is only resonable to inform people of the information that i was told.

    Yes until DFI make a statement, you may say this is not official, however if this is going to save a few people the nightmare of RMAing their boards because of this problem until DFI release a fix, then i hope i have helped.

    Topboy
    Last edited by topboy; 05-27-2005 at 06:16 AM.

  7. #7
    A64 OverClocker
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Daytona Beach
    Posts
    2

    Default

    It is still bad new, regardless.

  8. #8
    BE Member muzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I appreciate your putting this out there topboy.
    I saw the grief ya got from some fanboys elsewhere.
    Travis just closed that thread saying there was already another..
    There isn't.

    Man DFI employees really irk me

  9. #9
    BE Member topboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    85

    Default

    Many thanks for the kind words Muzz

    Yeah im just trying to help us users out there

    Talk soon

    Topboy

  10. #10
    BE Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4

    Default

    oh man....

    hope they fix this soon
    Last edited by babyelf; 05-26-2005 at 05:36 PM.
    A64 3500+ Clawhammer CAA2C 0509 DPMW
    A64 3000+ Venice LBBLE 0517 DPMW 0024 serial
    A64 3700+ San Diego CABGE 0516 TPAW
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    Thermalright XP120 & Sunon 108CFM
    Thermalright XP90 & 92mm Tornado
    Corsair Cool
    OCZ Powerstream 520W
    Corsair 3200LL XMS3205v1.1 BH-5 2x512mb
    OCZ Value VX
    G.Skill LE
    G.Skill FC
    MSI 6800GT 410/1120 stock cooler

  11. #11
    I am a little Sneezy
    • Snafu's Rig Specs
      • Motherboard:
      • Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD5-B3
      • CPU:
      • i5 2500k
      • memory:
      • 8GB Crucial
      • graphics:
      • EVGA 560
      • PSU:
      • Corsair 750w
      • Hard drives:
      • OCZ SSD 64GB + Seagate 1TB
      • case:
      • HAF
      • OS:
      • Win7 Ultimate
    Snafu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    ...don't wanna know where the other 6 are
    Posts
    14,143
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    FYI - this has been sent out to all sites that are on our news distribution list




    Snafu
    Profile - Webpage

    You can't live life without living - me

    Nothing is that important that it must be done today as long as you will wake up tomorrow - me


  12. #12
    Member On The Edge pastorjay's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Springfield, Mo
    Posts
    835

    Default

    This is VERY important news. Topboy, thank you for sharing this with the community. As for my DFI board, I have run it from day one in the 5V position, but I will be putting mine back to default until this is sorted out... I did just fry some ram this week!
    Last edited by pastorjay; 05-26-2005 at 06:18 PM.
    DFI LanParty UT NF4 SLI-D
    3000+ @ 2.6ghz
    2 x WD 74gb Raptor Drives
    2 x 512mb OCZ 3700 Plat
    2 x BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-E
    Lite-On DvD
    Plextor 708A dvd+-R


  13. #13
    BE Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    4

    Default

    going back to 1 2 position now =/
    A64 3500+ Clawhammer CAA2C 0509 DPMW
    A64 3000+ Venice LBBLE 0517 DPMW 0024 serial
    A64 3700+ San Diego CABGE 0516 TPAW
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    Thermalright XP120 & Sunon 108CFM
    Thermalright XP90 & 92mm Tornado
    Corsair Cool
    OCZ Powerstream 520W
    Corsair 3200LL XMS3205v1.1 BH-5 2x512mb
    OCZ Value VX
    G.Skill LE
    G.Skill FC
    MSI 6800GT 410/1120 stock cooler

  14. #14
    BE Member muzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I hope Frank doesn't get the can for telling ya that ( I don't even know him).
    I've seen folks get shown the door for less.

  15. #15
    BE Knight of Myth onepagebook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    6
    Country:
    Users Country Flag

    Default

    I have been using full 4v several times, fon't have problem at all.
    Below DDR593 2-2-2-3 are all in 4v




Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •