My First Attempt In Watercooling!!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My First Attempt In Watercooling!!!

I decided to just build a wooden box instead of buying a full tower case..It looks ghetto but it's no big deal because this rig is hidden from my kids naughty hands anyway...
    I used a 12V/30A automotive relay and made my own switch for the pumps. I using 50/50 automotive antifreeze/coolant . I wrapped my tubing with no.12 copper wire (PDX) in spiral manner for making nice bends rather than using elbows..
    I'm priming my 2.4c at 3.5 GHz (292 FSB) at the moment, using 1.625 vcore..I'll lower the vcore later..Ive booted as high as 3.8XX earlier..
    Motherboard monitor is reporting 52 degrees temp with prime95 running...System temp is 32 degrees..I think ABIT mobos are really notorious in reporting temps..
    Ill be happy if I could finish 24-Hour Prime95 @3.5...What I like about this is the "quietness" ..
    This is my first attempt in watercooling so pls feel free to give suggestions/ comments to make my rig better..
    Last edited by Jojo1971; 09-20-2003, 04:44 PM.

i know nothing about water cooling but....

why are you using antifreeze?
    antifreeze isnt actually a coolant at all ~ its antifreeze!

try a product called "water wetter" mixed with distiled water.
    its red and works great for cars that dont use antifreeze.
    (like down here in hot south FLA)

sorry if im way off base here

Comment

i went to the garage and read the container: it says antifreeze and coolant..actually i had a bottle of water wetter yesterday but spilled all of it because of too much excitement to fire this thing up ..

Comment

yes i know it says coolant ~ but its a worse coolant then water is.

hotrodders know this ~ never use antifreeze in a hotrod thats in a hot climate and doesnt need antifreezing protection.

water is a much better heat conductor then antifreeze.

Comment

aha i guess i make another trip to autozone tomorrow...

Comment