PDA

View Full Version : OCZ EL DDR PC4000 Review



Mikki
08-06-2003, 05:07 PM
Check out Hawk's review here (http://www.bleedinedge.com/reviews/ocz_pc4000/ocz_pc4000_pg1.html) :)

Feel free to post any questions or comments in this thread...;)

Duvie
08-06-2003, 05:16 PM
Looks impressive...I was glad to see he could run something better then the rated cas 3,4,4,8...

I would still like to see someting outside of the synthetic only...I can tweak my memory as well and jack speed way up, drop cas timings and get snadra scores 25-30% better but not get any more then 2-5% in performance gains....I would like to see real world....

eva2000
08-06-2003, 07:45 PM
ahhh the sticky hid this thread from me LOL

geez that was a quick review Hawk, you only just got the memory :)

Jim
08-06-2003, 08:59 PM
Looks good Hawk , sweet memory. :wave:

Hawk
08-07-2003, 03:03 AM
I stayed up the whole night working with it. . . . . . I pretty much knew all the settings to play with thanks to Ryan. . . .










Originally posted by eva2000
ahhh the sticky hid this thread from me LOL

geez that was a quick review Hawk, you only just got the memory :)

Hawk
08-07-2003, 03:05 AM
Let me know what apps you would like to see benched. We can keep it going in this thread. Also, I'm trying to get the Vapochill working so I can test these on the 3.2C hopefully at 250-270FSB. . . I stayed away from 3Dmark, but I did do ADIA32 & Memtest86 results. I'll post em' soon.








Originally posted by Duvie
Looks impressive...I was glad to see he could run something better then the rated cas 3,4,4,8...

I would still like to see someting outside of the synthetic only...I can tweak my memory as well and jack speed way up, drop cas timings and get snadra scores 25-30% better but not get any more then 2-5% in performance gains....I would like to see real world....

eva2000
08-07-2003, 03:20 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
I stayed up the whole night working with it. . . . . . I pretty much knew all the settings to play with thanks to Ryan. . . . ah no wonder.. takes the fun out of finding out for yourself though :na: hehe

eva2000
08-07-2003, 03:21 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
Let me know what apps you would like to see benched. We can keep it going in this thread. Also, I'm trying to get the Vapochill working so I can test these on the 3.2C hopefully at 250-270FSB. . . I stayed away from 3Dmark, but I did do ADIA32 & Memtest86 results. I'll post em' soon. sciencemark 2.0 hmmm what else is worth testing hmmm

Hawk
08-07-2003, 03:59 AM
Test System
Intel 2.4C - SL6WF w/ stock heatsink
ASUS P4C800 Deluxe - BIOS 1010
OCZ 4000 1GB Pair (2 * 512MB chips)
ChainTech TI4800




Benchmarks

http://www.bleedinedge.com/images/thugs/ico-a32.gif Aida32 v3.70 Read / Write
200FSB : DDR400 (3-4-4-8-8) = 4880 MB/s / 1750 MB/s
250FSB : DDR500 (2.5-3-4-5-8) = 5277 MB/s / 1808 MB/s
260FSB : DDR520 (2.5-3-4-5-8) = 5508 MB/s / 1917 MB/s
270FSB : DDR540 (3-4-4-7-8) = 5613 MB/s / 2085 MB/s
275FSB : DDR550 (3-4-4-8-8) = 5752 MB/s / 2152 MB/s


Memtest86 v3.0
200FSB : DDR400 (3-4-4-8-8) = 2474 MB/s
250FSB : DDR500 (2.5-3-4-5-8) = 2929 MB/s
260FSB : DDR520 (2.5-3-4-5-8) = 3050 MB/s
270FSB : DDR540 (3-4-4-7-8) = 3092 MB/s
275FSB : DDR550 (3-4-4-8-8) = 3149 MB/s



:wave: -Hawk

eva2000
08-07-2003, 04:04 AM
nice.. seems to be close to the same results for 4x 256MB ADATA PC4000 so 4 SS or 2 DS sticks really does make a difference

curious what about @233mhz and what aggressive timings can you do and also at 3-4-4-8 ?

Hawk
08-07-2003, 04:07 AM
EVA2000, you want 233FSB 1:1 w/ aggressive and non aggressive timings bench's?








Originally posted by eva2000
nice.. seems to be close to the same results for 4x 256MB ADATA PC4000 so 4 SS or 2 DS sticks really does make a difference

curious what about @233mhz and what aggressive timings can you do and also at 3-4-4-8 ?

eva2000
08-07-2003, 04:28 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
EVA2000, you want 233FSB 1:1 w/ aggressive and non aggressive timings bench's? yup.. yup to compare against ADATA PC4000 @233mhz 2.5-4-3-7 which it can do :)

Hawk
08-07-2003, 04:31 AM
Originally posted by eva2000
yup.. yup to compare against ADATA PC4000 @233mhz 2.5-4-3-7 which it can do :)




Not a problem. What benchs do you want other then then std. . ?

Also, if you want to chat faster, drop me a PM w/ a Yahoo or MSN messenger ID I can contact you. I cannot use ICQ at work. :(

eva2000
08-07-2003, 04:39 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
Not a problem. What benchs do you want other then then std. . ?

Also, if you want to chat faster, drop me a PM w/ a Yahoo or MSN messenger ID I can contact you. I cannot use ICQ at work. :(
sandra, aida, pcmark2002, sciencemark :)

i'll pm ya

Flamer
08-07-2003, 08:00 AM
Hawk,

Very nice review, do you have any idea when these sticks will be in the stores.

Hawk
08-07-2003, 08:57 AM
Originally posted by samcolt
Hawk,

Very nice review, do you have any idea when these sticks will be in the stores.


No, but I'll drop Ryan a note and see what he says.

Hawk
08-08-2003, 05:29 AM
Test System
Intel 3.2C - SL6WG - w/ SLK-900 heatsink
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe - BIOS 1010
OCZ 4000 1GB Pair (2 * 512MB chips)
BFG 5900 FX Ultra




BIOS Settings:

TURBO
2.85V DDR
VCore Auto
PCI/AGP 66.66/33.33
DDR Speed 400
FSB 233

The attached picture contains the results for 233FSB w/ PAT set to ENABLED & AUTO in the BIOS.

:wave: -Hawk

Mikki
08-08-2003, 06:23 AM
Nice looking scores Hawk...:D What was the highest OC you could get with the tightest timings? :)

Hawk
08-08-2003, 06:50 AM
520DDR w/ 2.5-3-4-5-8 timings.

Anything above that requires Cas 3. . . . My cap on the 3.2C is 238FSB. I'm switching it to the Vapochill today and will see if I can OC it more. . .

eva2000
08-08-2003, 07:12 AM
Hawk how you manage 233FSB with memory set at DDR400 (200mhz memory) ?

Hawk
08-08-2003, 07:23 AM
Originally posted by eva2000
Hawk how you manage 233FSB with memory set at DDR400 (200mhz memory) ?


No, no no. . . It's 400DDR in the BIOS, but with the FSB at 233, the DDR speed is really DDR466. . . Sorry. I should have said 1:1


;)

eva2000
08-08-2003, 07:32 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
No, no no. . . It's 400DDR in the BIOS, but with the FSB at 233, the DDR speed is really DDR466. . . Sorry. I should have said 1:1


;) ah for a moment there i thought you had a 7:6 cpu ratio option LOL

that would be nice though 270FSB 7:6 mem = 231mhz

Hawk
08-08-2003, 07:39 AM
Originally posted by eva2000
ah for a moment there i thought you had a 7:6 cpu ratio option LOL

that would be nice though 270FSB 7:6 mem = 231mhz



That could come in handy. . . Let's break out the old BIOS editor. . .

;)


How do the scores look? I know you wanted to compare them to something.. . . . . .

eva2000
08-08-2003, 07:48 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
That could come in handy. . . Let's break out the old BIOS editor. . .

;)


How do the scores look? I know you wanted to compare them to something.. . . . . . yeah compared to this http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/showthread.php3?s=&threadid=676 :)

Dr.2K
08-08-2003, 12:03 PM
Nice review Hawk :) Its nice you have a vapochill so you can see how these sticks really perform and not be limited by the cpu. Just my 2 cents, but with my 3.0c and water cooling my ocz gold 2x512 pc4000 didnt do as well as my ocz gold 2x256 pc3700 :( At 1:1 the top stable FSB i reached with the pc4000 was 233FSB at 2.5,4,4,7with Turbo, no other settings were worked (refused to boot or stalled b4 getting into windows). The pc4000 didnt perform for me as well as the pc3700 with my cpu. But I will be getting 4x256 gold pc3700 that will do 245FSB 1:1 with a 3.0c

Anyways keep up the good work.

Hawk
08-08-2003, 12:11 PM
We'll the Vapochill is not running yet, but the 2.4C I have is giving the PC4000's a run for the money. I cannot get higher then 275FSB 1:1. . . So for this round, my CPU is still the king. This 2.4C does 292FSB on air. . . On a Vapochill, who knows? 320FSB maybe? ? ?

Dr.2K
08-08-2003, 12:21 PM
Very Nice! However, i have a question for you. Its really nice and hella fun to do these high FSB tests and see how far you can push these cpu's and memory, but, when u compare lets say the highest stable overclock on a 2.4c coupled with the best performing memory at any divider against the highest stable overclock on a 3.2c at 1:1 with best memory possible, which system do you feel gets better overall real world system performance in your opinoin? You have both so that why i ask. Which do you feel runs the smoothest and performs the best in games and such.

Hawk
08-08-2003, 12:23 PM
Originally posted by Dr.2K
Very Nice! However, i have a question for you. Its really nice and hella fun to do these high FSB tests and see how far you can push these cpu's and memory, but, when u compare lets say the highest stable overclock on a 2.4c coupled with the best performing memory at any divider against the highest stable overclock on a 3.2c at 1:1 with best memory possible, which system do you feel gets better overall real world system performance in your opinoin? You have both so that why i ask. Which do you feel runs the smoothest and performs the best in games and such.




Keep an eye out for the answer to that question. Right now, I would say the 3.2C but who knows?

I'm testing the following:

2.4C, 2.8C and 3.2C with the OCZ 3700 & 4000's and I'll compare the max OC and Max aggressive timings. . . .

Dr.2K
08-08-2003, 12:25 PM
Cool will do. :)

ThugsRook
08-09-2003, 01:44 AM
nice review :beer:

..and its about time somebody in here is able to beat my mem scores!
(altho not by much) ;)

Mikki
08-09-2003, 04:59 AM
Which I'm getting more and more puzzled over....are we being silly here? Thugs' 3000 is still equal to or better than all the latest high-priced memory we're seeing (except this new stuff Hawk has). Are we fools for paying all that money for new memory? :rolleyes:

ThugsRook
08-09-2003, 11:48 AM
Mikki ~ actually its 3362 / 3197 @ only 191fsb 382ddr ;) (unbuffered)


Hawk made a really good (but very expensive) decision to get the 3.2 gigamonster. yea he paid big bucks for it but hes getting some of the best scores/mem scores ive seen because of it.

undoubtably this ram gave him a better OC and better scores w/o having to deal with a mem ratio comprimise :wave:

Mikki
08-09-2003, 12:55 PM
Thugs, thanks for that...I was getting a tad confused....;):p

eva2000
08-09-2003, 07:13 PM
Originally posted by ThugsRook
Mikki ~ actually its 3362 / 3197 @ only 191fsb 382ddr ;) (unbuffered)


Hawk made a really good (but very expensive) decision to get the 3.2 gigamonster. yea he paid big bucks for it but hes getting some of the best scores/mem scores ive seen because of it.

undoubtably this ram gave him a better OC and better scores w/o having to deal with a mem ratio comprimise :wave: well hows 3273/3269 unbuffered for memory that only cost US$75/each http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/showthread.php3?postid=7973#post7973

http://www.fileshosts.com/pentium4/D1/abit/ic7/memory/adata/pc4000/4x256/250-250-3448-auto/mem-unbuff.jpg

:)

ThugsRook
08-10-2003, 01:04 AM
eva ~ my 2x 512mb KHX3k only cost me $85 US each shipped :wave:

Hawk
08-10-2003, 02:55 AM
Originally posted by ThugsRook
Mikki ~ actually its 3362 / 3197 @ only 191fsb 382ddr ;) (unbuffered)


Hawk made a really good (but very expensive) decision to get the 3.2 gigamonster. yea he paid big bucks for it but hes getting some of the best scores/mem scores ive seen because of it.

undoubtably this ram gave him a better OC and better scores w/o having to deal with a mem ratio comprimise :wave:




Thugsrook,

Your memory timings in that case must be very low, like 2-2-2-5 or something similar. What I am seeing, and I am testing it, that the memory scores across the board are almost equal when comparing say 200FSB w/ 2-2-3-5 to 250 w/ 2.5-3-3-5. But the advantage is the CPU power at those speeds. See, what the benchmarks are showing us is that yes, the memory throughput is within 5-10% of itself, but the benchmarks are not showing w. the added CPU horsepower. ;)

I'm trying to find a nice old benchmark to show me my results in a better format. CPU & Memory specific. WinBench is showthing them corretly, but I am looking at the games and rendering programs right now to see the "True" advantage. . .

shimmishim
08-25-2003, 09:32 PM
so yeah...

based upon what people are saying and doing with this crazy ram...

the ocz pc4000EL not gold...

this thing is capable of running 280+ FSB at timings of 3-4-4-8 with 2.85+ volts

is this correct???

radelon had his at 290+ am i correct?

man...

but what about dual channel???

Hawk
08-26-2003, 04:11 AM
Originally posted by shimmishim
so yeah...

based upon what people are saying and doing with this crazy ram...

the ocz pc4000EL not gold...

this thing is capable of running 280+ FSB at timings of 3-4-4-8 with 2.85+ volts

is this correct???

radelon had his at 290+ am i correct?

man...

but what about dual channel???


These are dual channel. ;) Also, from what I have heard, the EL's (Copper) that I have, each one clocks slightly different. I max out at @DDR550, Radelon makes it to DDR560. . Not too shabby.

But, the 4000's Golds make it just shy of 600DDR from what I have heard. . . .

eva2000
08-26-2003, 04:48 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
These are dual channel. ;) Also, from what I have heard, the EL's (Copper) that I have, each one clocks slightly different. I max out at @DDR550, Radelon makes it to DDR560. . Not too shabby.

But, the 4000's Golds make it just shy of 600DDR from what I have heard. . . . varies.. here the guy compared the copper and gold pc4000 and chose the copper as they oc'd better and handled tighter timings better http://asusboards.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&postid=525462#post525462

shimmishim
08-26-2003, 06:28 AM
can someone suggest a good US vendor that sells the 4000EL?

i think newegg has it for about $200

anyone else???

Hawk
08-26-2003, 06:34 AM
Originally posted by shimmishim
can someone suggest a good US vendor that sells the 4000EL?

i think newegg has it for about $200

anyone else???



You can also get them at www.hardcorecooling.us

shimmishim
08-26-2003, 06:37 AM
they only have one stick of 512 meg... no 2 sticks of 256 :(

Hawk
08-26-2003, 06:46 AM
Originally posted by shimmishim
they only have one stick of 512 meg... no 2 sticks of 256 :(



Here's another for you.. . . . .

http://www.svcompucycle.com/ram.html

shimmishim
08-26-2003, 07:37 AM
wow!
185 for 2 x 256!!!

better than newgg by $15!!! :)

shimmishim
08-28-2003, 06:37 AM
anyone nkow if the 256 meg modules are double sided or single sided by any chance?

eva2000
08-28-2003, 07:47 AM
Originally posted by shimmishim
anyone nkow if the 256 meg modules are double sided or single sided by any chance? 256MB OCZ PC4000 are single sided

shimmishim
08-28-2003, 09:20 AM
dang it! :(

oh well..

seems like my ram will be here saturday...

now i need to find the beta 17 bios so i can test this thing out!

anyone know where i can get it?

Croc
08-29-2003, 08:14 PM
I have 2 x 512 sticks of the OCZ4000Gold parked in the blue slots of my P4C800E Deluxe. Recently I picked up a 2.4C on spec. because I was suspicious that my 2.6C was not overclocking well and was holding back the ram. The 2.4C was capable of 290fsb at 5:4 so I embarked on my own testing. I dialled the bios in to 400mhz or 1:1 and just started cranking up the fsb. When I got to 260fsb 1:1 @ default vcore and the 4000Gold at 2.75vdimm and still at the 250mhz spec of 2.5,4,4,7 I knew there was a lot of headroom left.

After reading Prometheus's review #2 of the 4000 ram over at Anandtech I needed to beat the OCZ4000Copper. I DID.

I hit 280fsb 1:1 at 2.85vdim 3,4,4,8 that's Standard and PAM enabled. That's 560DDR and 1120fsb. INCREDIBLE!!!!

My best results were at 278FSB where I was able to leave Turbo enabled. I will post both the Sandra Max Buffered results first. Can't attach the Jpegs but the results are:
Buffered - 6377/6419
Unbuffered - 3408/3470

Now that's what I call Memory Bandwidth.

290fsb at 5:4. Yup!. Been there, done that!
I may go back and up the vcore to 1.65 and try for 290 1:1.

I have to say that OCZ's service is outstanding and so is their product. And that is from a die-hard skeptic. Thanks OCZ

shimmishim
08-29-2003, 09:38 PM
lol nice double post in two different threads :)

i get mine tomorrow... i will test this baby out!

:) yayayay

Croc
08-29-2003, 09:46 PM
Yup, good news deserves a few doubles:wave:

shimmishim
08-29-2003, 09:57 PM
hahaha....

yes... :)

hmm... i dunno anymore if i'm going to get it tomorrow...

it was sent out 8/28/03....

hmm....

shimmishim
09-03-2003, 12:05 PM
:(

so these sticks won't run anything more than 3-4-4-8 @ ddr500 without giving me errors in memtest86 @ 2.8/2.85 volts after one pass....

other settings / speeds will give me an error within the first pass...

so far at ddr500 it's made 10 passes on test #5 w/o erroring....


i even tried 3-4-4-8 @ 234 mhz with the 5:4 divider and i still get errors in memtest

any ideas???

btw i have 2 x 256 sticks

:(

Croc
09-03-2003, 12:16 PM
If you are running 2 x 256 of the OCZ4000Gold you should not be getting memtest errors at 250mhz 1:1 at 2.5,4,4,7 2.75 vdimm AT ALL. And you should be doing much better than that.

I would contact OCZSupport and let them know.
Although I heard Abit was having problems with 5:4 I do not know the specifics.

eva2000
09-03-2003, 12:20 PM
Originally posted by shimmishim
:(

so these sticks won't run anything more than 3-4-4-8 @ ddr500 without giving me errors in memtest86 @ 2.8/2.85 volts after one pass....

other settings / speeds will give me an error within the first pass...

so far at ddr500 it's made 10 passes on test #5 w/o erroring....


i even tried 3-4-4-8 @ 234 mhz with the 5:4 divider and i still get errors in memtest

any ideas???

btw i have 2 x 256 sticks

:(

test each stick individually first for 1:1 for async you need to disable CPC and the 2nd last setting under GAT options

shimmishim
09-03-2003, 12:38 PM
thanks i'll try that

btw, its the el not the gold

but so far it is running ddr500 1:1 @ 2.5-4-4-7 :) so far 25 passes and no error

let me try 5:4 @ 2.5-3-3-7 now and disable the last two options....

shimmishim
09-03-2003, 12:39 PM
spoke too soon ...

won't even boot at 5:4 :(

shimmishim
09-03-2003, 01:10 PM
1 stick at a time

1 stick can do 275 :) boots at 280 but errors REALLY fast

2nd stick can't boot at 275

so i think it's the second stick that's causing problems....


what should i do now?

eva2000
09-03-2003, 01:32 PM
Originally posted by shimmishim
1 stick at a time

1 stick can do 275 :) boots at 280 but errors REALLY fast

2nd stick can't boot at 275

so i think it's the second stick that's causing problems....


what should i do now? bug Tony/BT ;)

Tony
09-03-2003, 02:52 PM
Please test the modules 1:1 for me indevidually at rated timings and voltage.Then test together and see if they are ok.

Anything over DDR500 is awesome but NOT guaranteed.

Also Async seems to be hit and miss board to board, also above certain FSB's problems start to occur.

I have an IC7 set up and i do have PC4000 256mb modules and will do more testing for you if needed.

come back with your results.

Croc
09-03-2003, 03:11 PM
Yes DDR600 please.

The 2.4C is at 294fsb now. That would be cool if I could get near THAT with 1:1 Tony.

shimmishim
09-03-2003, 03:41 PM
Originally posted by Tony
Please test the modules 1:1 for me indevidually at rated timings and voltage.Then test together and see if they are ok.

Anything over DDR500 is awesome but NOT guaranteed.

Also Async seems to be hit and miss board to board, also above certain FSB's problems start to occur.

I have an IC7 set up and i do have PC4000 256mb modules and will do more testing for you if needed.

come back with your results.


i ran 233 @ 1:! and it would not work either...

i don't get these sticks..

Neil
11-10-2003, 01:26 PM
I will buy me some of this, wheres it cheap in the UK?

Tony
11-10-2003, 07:53 PM
Originally posted by shimmishim
i ran 233 @ 1:! and it would not work either...

i don't get these sticks..

mail me if your having issues

XaserFan
03-10-2004, 07:55 PM
Hi all,
Newbie here! :cool: I want to say thanks for the posts and assistance on getting started with overclocking. I just overclocked a bit, ran Sandra and saw instant improvement :)

RotorHead
03-10-2004, 08:16 PM
Welcome to the Bleedin Edge XaserFan :wave:

Glad you got good results. We got some good folks hanging around here, so if you have any problems or question just post them up.

:beer:

Hawk
03-11-2004, 04:19 AM
Welcome :wave: & great job XaserFan! ! ! !

sutats
05-31-2004, 03:03 AM
Hi,

I'm using OCZ PC4000 EL DDR (256mb x 2) kit but I am unable to run this pair of memory on a 1:1 ratio above 235fsb it won't post, but on a 5:4 it can operate up to about 237fsb. I think the memory is faulty.

I've tried contacting OCZ support via email but have not received a reponse. Hmmm...

Hawk
05-31-2004, 04:09 AM
Sutats,

:welcome: to the BE. Drop a PM to Tony or AndyT. They are the resident OCA guru's here.

What board, VDimm voltage, etc. are you using? CPU etc . . ..

sutats
05-31-2004, 09:49 AM
Hi Hawk,

Thanks for the welcome. I just tried re-installing the memory and now it runs 1:1 ratio at previously low fsb where it would only run 5:4. Strange but true so I guess it's okay now. Cheers!