PDA

View Full Version : Corsair DDR 500



pastorjay
07-31-2003, 09:05 AM
Hey guys... we have some pretty good results on our testing of the Corsair DDR 500... check it out HERE. (http://legitreviews.com/Reviews/xms4000kit_1.shtml)

PJ

eva2000
07-31-2003, 09:13 AM
yeah read that.. but at 3.0v vdimm

alot of so and so memory do well at 3.0v vdimm as well :)

i'm getting 270+ mhz with ADATA PC4000 at 2.85v can't wait to get my 4PCA3+ and put 3.0v vdimm on it and tighten the timings :)

my 2.4C won't make 300FSB hehe

Hawk
07-31-2003, 09:16 AM
3-4-4-8 :beat: What are they thinking? ? ? ?

I'm waiting on the OCZ 4000's to test. . .

eva2000
07-31-2003, 09:18 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
3-4-4-8 :beat: What are they thinking? ? ? ?

I'm waiting on the OCZ 4000's to test. . . i slipped your postman $10 bucks and the sticks are coming my way instead ... j/k

Hawk
07-31-2003, 09:26 AM
:deviltail U are evil . . . . . I still have not received them. . . :( They are probably in route via a kangaroo to you. . . . :na:





Originally posted by eva2000
i slipped your postman $10 bucks and the sticks are coming my way instead ... j/k

eva2000
07-31-2003, 09:29 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
:deviltail U are evil . . . . . I still have not received them. . . :( They are probably in route via a kangaroo to you. . . . :na: took ya a while to find this smiley :deviltail didn't it ? :)

hehe .. hope you get them soon :)

Hawk
07-31-2003, 09:36 AM
Nope, it's right there in the smiley box. . .;) . . I hope I get em' soon so we can see what to expect. . . I'd love to be in the position that I have to search for a CPU that has to keep up with the RAM for once. . . . .











Originally posted by eva2000
took ya a while to find this smiley :deviltail didn't it ? :)

hehe .. hope you get them soon :)

eva2000
07-31-2003, 09:47 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
Nope, it's right there in the smiley box. . .;) . . I hope I get em' soon so we can see what to expect. . . I'd love to be in the position that I have to search for a CPU that has to keep up with the RAM for once. . . . . can you 3.2C handle > 260mhz though ?

Hawk
07-31-2003, 09:50 AM
Originally posted by eva2000
can you 3.2C handle > 260mhz though ?



Nope, 3.2C max is 238FSB., but the 2.4C is 288FSB. . . . .

I can also borrow something that goes over 300FSB, but that's not my chip. . . . .

eva2000
07-31-2003, 09:56 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
Nope, 3.2C max is 238FSB., but the 2.4C is 288FSB. . . . .

I can also borrow something that goes over 300FSB, but that's not my chip. . . . . woah :)

2 of my 2.4C max are around 270-275fsb... 3rd 2.4C yet to test.. hoping for a goodie

pastorjay
07-31-2003, 10:02 AM
I agree... 3.0 vdimm is more than most people will be willing to do... I myself will be getting my p4c800E tonight and will be doing the vdimm mod so that I can have 3.0+ available to use on my mem. Right now, I only have the 3700 premier to test it with, but from what I hear, it is good to around 520ddr...

I guess I was just surprised to see how good the Corsair did (even with high vdimm) after I had read so many horrid comments about it.

Wished I had it here to test myself though... now that would be fun!

PJ

eva2000
07-31-2003, 10:20 AM
Originally posted by pastorjay
I agree... 3.0 vdimm is more than most people will be willing to do... I myself will be getting my p4c800E tonight and will be doing the vdimm mod so that I can have 3.0+ available to use on my mem. Right now, I only have the 3700 premier to test it with, but from what I hear, it is good to around 520ddr...

I guess I was just surprised to see how good the Corsair did (even with high vdimm) after I had read so many horrid comments about it.

Wished I had it here to test myself though... now that would be fun!

PJ btw how much did the ocz pc3700 premier cost compared to ocz pc3700 gold ? Australia doesn't get pricing on ocz pc3700 premier until next week :rolleyes:

pastorjay
07-31-2003, 10:31 AM
Well at Newegg, the dual Gold kit is $230 and the Premier kit is $190.

I bought the 2 sticks of Gold (non-dual) for $80 a stick at the time.

Non-dual is much cheaper... but the downside is that MAYBE the sticks will not match as good...

Hope that helps...


Originally posted by eva2000
btw how much did the ocz pc3700 premier cost compared to ocz pc3700 gold ? Australia doesn't get pricing on ocz pc3700 premier until next week :rolleyes:

eva2000
07-31-2003, 01:51 PM
Originally posted by pastorjay
Well at Newegg, the dual Gold kit is $230 and the Premier kit is $190.

I bought the 2 sticks of Gold (non-dual) for $80 a stick at the time.

Non-dual is much cheaper... but the downside is that MAYBE the sticks will not match as good...

Hope that helps... thanks.. here's hoping that OZ prices are too high :)

ThugsRook
07-31-2003, 02:41 PM
great review! :beer:

expensive ram :beat:

lousy results :smash:

:wave:

eva2000
07-31-2003, 08:40 PM
might want to read this thread http://www.viperlair.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1222


Okay, got off the phone with Corsair again, and this is what I was told...

There is an issue with nForce 2 boards. The TWINX4000 was designed with the 800FSB P4s in mind, and designed to work 1:1 CPU:RAM. When you run it async, as you would have to with the nF2, the timings get all messed up, and it is prone to errors. Furthermore, the ram must run at 2.75v at 200FSB and up. The ram is rated for 2.9v, so juice it more if you have to, but put a fan there.

Matthew's problems are unique. Corsair says call to resolve it.

David's issues are an unknown. They tested with the NEO2, and it works. He suggested adding more juice, since every mobo fluctuates differently (asus and abit provide more by default for example).

For the record, all of our samples were tested on a Soyo, MSI, ABIT and ASUS before being shipped out. Our modules should be fine, unless damaged by shipping. Like I said, the nF2s are a known issue, but the ram should work fine for P4 boards.

Hawk
08-01-2003, 03:15 AM
Originally posted by eva2000
might want to read this thread http://www.viperlair.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1222




All that I can say about the new Corsiar modules from what I am reading is "STRIKE 2". :eek:

eva2000
08-01-2003, 04:51 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
All that I can say about the new Corsiar modules from what I am reading is "STRIKE 2". :eek: i think part of all the problems, is not enough motherboard brands and models used in validation of the memory prior to memory being released forsale.. makes me wonder how close the relationship between board manufacturer and memory manufacturer really is

Hawk
08-01-2003, 04:56 AM
That's why we test em' and see what they can do . . .

I'm still waiting for you and chainey to get me some of those ADATA chips. . . . ;) I see the P4C800 series is really doing amazing speeds with then from that preview. . . .









Originally posted by eva2000

i think part of all the problems, is not enough motherboard brands and models used in validation of the memory prior to memory being released forsale.. makes me wonder how close the relationship between board manufacturer and memory manufacturer really is

eva2000
08-02-2003, 12:51 AM
Originally posted by Hawk
That's why we test em' and see what they can do . . .

I'm still waiting for you and chainey to get me some of those ADATA chips. . . . ;) I see the P4C800 series is really doing amazing speeds with then from that preview. . . . if only i didn't need my ADATA sticks :D