PDA

View Full Version : My geil golden dragon...



shimmishim
07-29-2003, 03:51 AM
So...

i was playing a game last night and experienced a random reboot... a complete system reboot... hadn't had one of these in FOREVER...

i firs thought it was my overclock but then i decided to test my ram...

i ran 2.5-3-3-7 @ 234 and starting on the second pass of test #5, i started getting errors like crazy...

so i ran 2.5-4-3-7 @ 234 and still got errors...

i decided maybe it was my overclock...

took it down to 1:1 @ 233 @ 2.5-3-3-7 and still got errors...

tried again at 5:4 @ 234 @ 3-4-4-8 and still GETTING errors...

the ic7 maxes the voltage out at 2.75 vdimm as you all know...

this ram is good up to 3.1volts...

i still have a good .35 volts left on this ram to increase it by but i can't cuz of the board....

should I:
1. rma it and get some ocz gold or will i have the same problem with those as well?

2. keep it and do a vdimm mod to my board?

3. i'm screwed?

hahaha...

thanks guys!

Hawk
07-29-2003, 04:02 AM
Test #5
prior to 865/875 boards - memory speed, timings and vdimm related (meaning altering mem speed, timings and/or vdimm saw errors in this test disappear)

Play with the settings, if not, maybe the ram is flakey. . . . .

eva2000
07-29-2003, 05:19 AM
room temps and case temps higher ? how's the NB temps ?

i just finished testing my GEIL Goldren Dragon PC3700 on IC7 and did fine at 233mhz 2.5-4-3-7 and 245mhz 2.5-4-4-8 at 2.8v in bios setting

shimmishim
07-29-2003, 09:10 AM
temps are all good...

33 system
53 load
46.5 pwm


hmm...

so yeah...

i dunno what to do...

think i should return the ram?

edit: i have one of the new fans on my NB :)

shimmishim
07-29-2003, 09:11 AM
btw hawk:

i tried everything...

i tried the highest vdimm possible on the board and the loosest timings of 3-4-4-8 and it still gave errors (actually more errors and early on than 2.5-4-4-8)

Hawk
07-29-2003, 09:18 AM
Do you have a bud that you can test these chips in his/her machine? That would get rid of the headache of RMA'ing anything. . .

shimmishim
07-29-2003, 09:21 AM
no i don't :(

i'm gonna try bios 1.4 and see if that helps

the board i got came with 1.5 so i'm gonna see if this works..

if not then... yeah... maybe rma..

shimmishim
07-29-2003, 09:38 AM
still errors...

but a lot less per pass than before...

average of 6 per pass...

now down to 2 per pass....

i have a feeling that if i can up this voltage to 2.8 or 2.9 then it'll be fine...

hmm....

now trying 2.5-4-4-8 with the last two options disabled under GA

first error shows up usually in pass #5


should i try using dimm slots 1 and 3 instead? you think that may work? (currently using 0 and 2)

shimmishim
07-29-2003, 09:43 AM
hmm... pass #11 and no errors still :)

i think we have a winner...

so yeah... 2.5-4-4-8 isn't too bad i guess ...

bandwidth dropped from about 2480ish MB/s to 2210 MB/s

hmm... maybe i can try 2.5-4-3-8

or 2.5-3-4-8

shimmishim
07-29-2003, 10:54 PM
memtest worked at 2.5-4-4-8 ...

but one thing i notice now is that when i'm typing.. the typing will stop for about .5 seconds and then all the words that i had typed will show up a little later...

is this a ram issue? i have a feeling it is...

argh... im gonna have to rma this to geil...

why am i having such bad luck with my system these days... i really don't think the amd "gods" are happy with me ;)

ok ok j/k j/k...

ThugsRook
07-29-2003, 11:11 PM
try c2448

Hawk
07-30-2003, 03:17 AM
That should not be a ram issue concerning the delay. Sounds like something running on the machine is hogging CPU cycles. Run Per. Mon and check to see what is taking a hold of the CPU at those times of the slow down. I found something similar on my work machine and it was related to Wild Tanget. Now I only load it when I wanna play. . . . .








Originally posted by shimmishim
memtest worked at 2.5-4-4-8 ...

but one thing i notice now is that when i'm typing.. the typing will stop for about .5 seconds and then all the words that i had typed will show up a little later...

is this a ram issue? i have a feeling it is...

argh... im gonna have to rma this to geil...

why am i having such bad luck with my system these days... i really don't think the amd "gods" are happy with me ;)

ok ok j/k j/k...

shimmishim
07-30-2003, 06:31 AM
it was kazaa downloading a file that was hogging up the cpu cycles + seti@home running...

now that i stopped downloading, everything is fine :)

Hawk
07-30-2003, 06:34 AM
There ya go bud. . . . .






Originally posted by shimmishim
it was kazaa downloading a file that was hogging up the cpu cycles + seti@home running...

now that i stopped downloading, everything is fine :)

shimmishim
07-30-2003, 11:07 AM
mr-know-it-all :P



Originally posted by Hawk
There ya go bud. . . . .

Thor
07-30-2003, 11:51 AM
Originally posted by shimmishim
why am i having such bad luck with my system these days... i really don't think the amd "gods" are happy with me ;)

Hahahaha. See what happens to traitors? J/K!

Dexx
08-07-2003, 10:03 PM
I have 2 sticks of 256mb pc3700 Geil gold Dragon. Using
2.5-3-3-7 in my IC7 (2.75V) they go as high as 240MHz
dual channel. Using 2.5-4-4-8 i can get to 245. Strangely
if i set 3-4-4-8 (or 3- anything) my system wont boot at
any speed and I have to reset cmos :confused:

eva2000
08-07-2003, 10:43 PM
Originally posted by Dexx
I have 2 sticks of 256mb pc3700 Geil gold Dragon. Using
2.5-3-3-7 in my IC7 (2.75V) they go as high as 240MHz
dual channel. Using 2.5-4-4-8 i can get to 245. Strangely
if i set 3-4-4-8 (or 3- anything) my system wont boot at
any speed and I have to reset cmos :confused: some memory don't like cas 3.. my 2 x 512mb xms3500c2 don't boot at 3-4-4-8

what cpu vcore you at for 240+ mhz 1:1

Dexx
08-10-2003, 09:03 PM
My IC7 Vcore is 1.625V (1.6V real) and Vmem is 2.8V (2.76V real).
240+ seems stable in Windows, but I get a few memtest86
errors (2 per loop) at any speed over 230. I may have
to try the IC7 Vmem mod :D

eva2000
08-10-2003, 09:41 PM
for GEIL PC3700 Golden Dragon on IC7 best to run 2.5-4-3-7 or 2.5-4-4-7 if 2.5-3-3-7 doesn't work

shimmishim
08-10-2003, 09:58 PM
that's interesting because

i get errors in memtest86 running 2.5-7-3-3

but it disappears at 2.5-7-4-3

:)

no errors + 3.07 volts to vdimm helps as well..

i should see if i can tighten it some more!

eva2000
08-10-2003, 10:04 PM
Originally posted by shimmishim
that's interesting because

i get errors in memtest86 running 2.5-7-3-3

but it disappears at 2.5-7-4-3

:)

no errors + 3.07 volts to vdimm helps as well..

i should see if i can tighten it some more! see :)

well if you tried looping memtest 86 test #6 long enought 2.5-4-3-7 may error out at under 2.8v .. i suppose with 3+ v vdimm it won't :)

shimmishim
08-10-2003, 10:08 PM
yeah this 3.0+ vdimm thing is REALLY nice

:)

everyone should mod their board!!! :)

Dexx
08-11-2003, 05:05 PM
I can now run 2.5-3-3-7 @ 2.75V 233MHz without errors
(memtest ran for 6 hours). I followed Thugs guide and one
of the settings must have firmed things up. I cant run
turbo, street racer, or any of those optimisers. But never mind.

The bandwidth reported by memtest86 is interesting. At 233MHz
1:1 I get the following

2.5-4-4-8 2186MBs
2.5-4-4-7 2263MBs
2.5-3-3-8 2398MBs
2.5-3-3-7 2482MBs

shimmishim
08-11-2003, 07:06 PM
looks about what i get as well 1:1

seems a little low

shimmishim
08-11-2003, 07:13 PM
i can do 250 1:1 with the geil gold dragon

3.07 volts
2.5-4-4-8 :)

not too shabby but... yeah...

i tried 256 and no post...

guess its the infamous 255 limit that abit needs to fix

eva2000
08-11-2003, 08:53 PM
Originally posted by shimmishim
looks about what i get as well 1:1

seems a little low it's low because of single sided modules, if yo had 2x 512MB GEIL PC3700 GD that would show more bandwidth hehe

shimmishim
08-12-2003, 01:51 AM
dang it! :)

must...upgrade....ram...

j/k j/k :)

LastRide
08-12-2003, 03:59 AM
where is the vdimm mod for the IC7?.

eva2000
08-12-2003, 04:24 AM
Originally posted by LastRide
where is the vdimm mod for the IC7?. http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=12914 :)

LastRide
08-12-2003, 10:31 AM
I found it earlier.I have this funny feeling I will be replacing my IC7 soon so I won't bother with the mod.

eva2000
08-12-2003, 10:43 AM
Originally posted by LastRide
I found it earlier.I have this funny feeling I will be replacing my IC7 soon so I won't bother with the mod. replacing with what ? Max3 ?

eva2000
08-14-2003, 05:36 AM
Originally posted by shimmishim
i can do 250 1:1 with the geil gold dragon

3.07 volts
2.5-4-4-8 :)

not too shabby but... yeah...

i tried 256 and no post...

guess its the infamous 255 limit that abit needs to fix

can you do @233mhz 2.5-3-3-7 at 3.1v ?


I just put my 2X 256MB GEIL PC3700 Golden Dragon dual channel into my 4PCA3+ and pretty disappointing as well :(

========================
2X 256MB GEIL PC3700 Golden Dragon dual channel

@233mhz 2.5-3-3-7 at 2.85v on PX865PE PRO2 memtest test #5 PASS for 24+ hrs and does memtest error free at 245mhz 2.5-4-4-7 at 2.85v vdimm

@233mhz 2.5-3-3-7 at 2.8v on IC7 FAILS memtest after 1597+ passes with 2 errors needs 2.5-4-3-7 or 2.5-4-4-7 at 2.8v to pass

@233mhz 2.5-3-3-7 at 2.8, 2.9, 3.0, 3.1, 3.2v on 4PCA3+ all FAIL memtest with 12-16 errors between 2-16 passes of test#5
@233mhz 2.5-4-3-8 at 3.1v memtest86 test #5 seems to be stabilizing

when this memory is set to SPD it's 2.5-4-4-8
========================

It appears both my 2x 256MB GEIL PC3500 Ultra dual channel also suffer the same weird performance, on PX865PE PRO2 at 2.85v can do rated timings error free, BUT on IC7 and 4PCA3+ they can't even with their max 2.9-3.1v rated vdimm applied on 4PCA3+

This has been confirmed as a flaw that GEIL found in their memory discussed in 2 links below but only GEIL memory after August 2003 will have the correct dual channel rated timings!

http://www.geil.com.tw/w/Qa/viewthread.jsp?mid=288&

and

http://www.geil.com.tw/w/Qa/viewthread.jsp?mid=307&

Both my 2X 256MB GEIL PC3500 UDC and GEIL PC3700 Golden Dragon are dated 03Q2 for 2nd Quarter 2003 manufactured

shimmishim
08-14-2003, 05:45 AM
even with high voltage on the ic7, i cannot get it to pass at 2.5-7-3-3

memtest #5 errors in about the 16th loop or so with 2 errors....

2.5-7-4-3 gets rid of the errors....

eva2000
08-14-2003, 05:49 AM
Originally posted by shimmishim
even with high voltage on the ic7, i cannot get it to pass at 2.5-7-3-3

memtest #5 errors in about the 16th loop or so with 2 errors....

2.5-7-4-3 gets rid of the errors.... confirms the bad batch i guess.. is your GD PC3700 dated 03Q2 ?

shimmishim
08-14-2003, 06:09 AM
1. i just moved so i don't know where my retail box thing is :)

2. where is it on the box? (the date manufactured that is)


i'll look for the box later

eva2000
08-14-2003, 06:38 AM
Originally posted by shimmishim
1. i just moved so i don't know where my retail box thing is :)

2. where is it on the box? (the date manufactured that is)


i'll look for the box later

it's on the ram label itself ;)

pics of my GEIL and the date on the labels

http://www.fileshosts.com/memory/geil/pc3500dual/256/
http://www.fileshosts.com/memory/geil/pc3700gd/1/web/

eva2000
08-18-2003, 06:17 AM
Originally posted by shimmishim
that's interesting because

i get errors in memtest86 running 2.5-7-3-3

but it disappears at 2.5-7-4-3

:)

no errors + 3.07 volts to vdimm helps as well..

i should see if i can tighten it some more! yup after more testing of 2x 256MB GEIL PC3700 Golden Dragon runs 233mhz 2.5-4-3-7 at 2.8v fine and just errors out at 233mhz 2.5-3-3-7 at 3.1v (max rated memory vdimm)

strangely enough i can run

250mhz 2.5-4-3-7 at 3.1v
260mhz 2.5-4-4-8 at 3.3v

http://www.fileshosts.com/pentium4/D1/epox/benchmarks/2.4C_3/geil/pc3700gd/2x256/260-260-2.5447-ifon-cpcauto/superpi-1m.jpg

http://www.fileshosts.com/pentium4/D1/epox/benchmarks/2.4C_3/geil/pc3700gd/2x256/260-260-2.5447-ifon-cpcauto/mem-buff.jpg

http://www.fileshosts.com/pentium4/D1/epox/benchmarks/2.4C_3/geil/pc3700gd/2x256/260-260-2.5447-ifon-cpcauto/mem-unbuff.jpg

http://www.fileshosts.com/pentium4/D1/epox/benchmarks/2.4C_3/geil/pc3700gd/2x256/260-260-2.5447-ifon-cpcauto/pcmark2002.jpg

http://www.fileshosts.com/pentium4/D1/epox/benchmarks/2.4C_3/geil/pc3700gd/2x256/260-260-2.5447-ifon-cpcauto/aida-read.jpg

http://www.fileshosts.com/pentium4/D1/epox/benchmarks/2.4C_3/geil/pc3700gd/2x256/260-260-2.5447-ifon-cpcauto/aida-write.jpg

http://www.fileshosts.com/pentium4/D1/epox/benchmarks/2.4C_3/geil/pc3700gd/2x256/260-260-2.5447-ifon-cpcauto/UT2003_01.jpg

shimmishim
08-18-2003, 06:43 AM
Aida32
Read: 5652
Write: 1608

PCMark2k2
Memory: 10367


hmm...

that's what i get running 5:4
292 fsb which is 234.x mhz on my ram


interesting that 1:1 isn't that much faster or is 100 points on memory and 100 points on write and 200 points on read a huge difference??? cuz i have no idea :D

eva2000
08-18-2003, 06:51 AM
:cry: unfortunately not everyone has a cpu that does 290+ FSB :(

max i can do is 275FSB on 1 out of 3 2.4C cpus

shimmishim
08-18-2003, 07:49 AM
:(

sorry :( :( :(

:) i won't rub it in too much i promise!!! :)

now if i can only find one of these 2.4C's that can do 3.8 ghz hmm...

dang... i'd be using a 3:2 divider to get like 230 huh? :)

eva2000
08-18-2003, 11:34 AM
Originally posted by shimmishim
:(

sorry :( :( :(

:) i won't rub it in too much i promise!!! :)

now if i can only find one of these 2.4C's that can do 3.8 ghz hmm...

dang... i'd be using a 3:2 divider to get like 230 huh? :) if you find one, send it my way for some punishing memory tests :D

shimmishim
08-18-2003, 11:43 AM
Originally posted by eva2000
if you find one, send it my way for some punishing memory tests :D

but but.. YOU LIVE SO FAR AWAY!!! ahhh!!!!

eva2000
08-19-2003, 12:28 PM
Seems GEIL Taiwan forums wiped clean their forums but here's a screen shot and export to pdf file of the thread in question

Screenshot of thread id 288 (http://www.fileshosts.com/memory/geil/support/pc3500udc3_small.jpg) (417kb)

PDF version i print/exported from my browser http://www.fileshosts.com/memory/geil/support/pc3500udc.PDF

shimmishim
08-19-2003, 02:00 PM
Originally posted by eva2000
Seems GEIL Taiwan forums wiped clean their forums but here's a screen shot and export to pdf file of the thread in question

Screenshot of thread id 288 (http://www.fileshosts.com/memory/geil/support/pc3500udc3_small.jpg) (417kb)

PDF version i print/exported from my browser http://www.fileshosts.com/memory/geil/support/pc3500udc.PDF

so you think i should return this ram??? and try to get a newer one or a q3 one?

eva2000
08-19-2003, 03:43 PM
Originally posted by shimmishim
so you think i should return this ram??? and try to get a newer one or a q3 one? yeah but from OCAU forums someone with Q3 PC3700GD has the same problem as yours actually his issue is worse he can't even overclock with looser timings

shimmishim
08-19-2003, 03:44 PM
oh man oh man!!!

should i just return it to where i bought it from and get charged the 15% restock fee???

:(

eva2000
08-19-2003, 03:50 PM
i thought restocking fees is for refunds only... if their RMA there shouldn't be a restocking fee

shimmishim
08-19-2003, 03:52 PM
oh no no..

i was asking if i should just return it completely and get some new ram...

maybe some ocz gold 3700?

but man, they are $50 more!!! argh

eva2000
08-19-2003, 04:22 PM
Originally posted by shimmishim
oh no no..

i was asking if i should just return it completely and get some new ram...

maybe some ocz gold 3700?

but man, they are $50 more!!! argh OCZ PC3700 Gold is alot faster compare my GEIL PC3700 GD and OCZ PC3700 Gold @ 245mhz on first post here http://www.bleedinedge.com/forum/showthread.php3?s=&threadid=357&highlight=245mhz