PDA

View Full Version : Cablemodem Motorola SB5100



trodas
06-16-2008, 02:54 PM
It is already long time, when I upgraded my Motorola SB4200 modem to SB5100.

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee193/trodas_cr/MotorolaSB5100.jpg

So when sometimes happen that after my ISP cable line went down and the modem crash (one just cannot enter the modem menu, available at http://192.168.100.1 ) and I can't rest it over the net - well - I started suspect that the caps might not be as good, as they can.
And when recently I noticed too much packet loss, that even it can by my ISP fault (as it usually is, just check there for graphic display how my ISP sometimes "rule": http://trodas.wz.cz/index.php?act=ST&f=8&t=151&s= ) I still decided to replace the caps in my cablemodem.

Motorola SB 5100
------------------------
1x 470uF 25V d10 4PZ -> 13.85V, 209mV ripple -> 470uF 16V GC d8
1x 100uF 25V d8 4QK -> 13.96V, 200mV ripple -> 220uF 25V GK d6.3
3x 330uF 10V d8 4LY -> 5V all, 0.7 - 0.9mV ripple all -> 470uF 6.3V GD d6.3
1x 470uF ???V d8 (r4, 470J, UD) -> 2.516V, 0.6mV ripple -> 1000uF 6.3V GC d8
1x 150UF 10V d6.3 4JZ -> 3.346V, 0.6mV ripple -> 330uF 6.3V FM d6
1x 47uF 16V d6.3 49K -> 2.519V, 0.6mV ripple -> 150uF 6.3V FM d5
2X 22uF ???v d4 (22, r6.3) -> 5.16V, 1mV ripple + 1.202V, 0.6mV ripple -> 68uF 6.3V FC d4

The catch? Well, all these Chemi-con caps are SMD ones, while the replacements are radial.

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee193/trodas_cr/MotorolaSB51001.jpg


Luckily, there is not too many of them:

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee193/trodas_cr/MotorolaSB51002.jpg


So, I just bend their legs to the sides, cut them to match their SMD soldering place size and solder them like that:

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee193/trodas_cr/MotorolaSB51005.jpg

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee193/trodas_cr/MotorolaSB51004.jpg

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee193/trodas_cr/MotorolaSB51006.jpg

http://i232.photobucket.com/albums/ee193/trodas_cr/MotorolaSB51003.jpg

It is maybe not best-looking solution, but it works and the net seems now faster and less packets seems to be lost - but that can be just a coincidence, or I imagine it :P

Regardless, at least I now know that fault can't be in my modem :D

ThugsRook
06-17-2008, 07:15 AM
great work :thumbs:


i gotta tell ya tho, im so glad im off cable. DSL is slower but it doesnt go-down-every-other-day-for-who-knows-how-long, like cable.


:hide:

BeeHay
06-23-2008, 08:36 PM
Hey, I have the same modem!! :fire: Actually I have the 5120 :beer:

Nice work! :rock:

trodas
07-24-2008, 12:30 PM
ThugsRook - thanks! I think the downtime depends mostly on the ISP. Ours are very reliable, recently. It was worser, tough, but... In last year it went down like 5 times for less that 1 minute only. Not bad. Can be better, of course! :wpleased:

BeeHay - heh, is not the 5120 the EURO DOCSIS one? :p