PDA

View Full Version : 8800GTX volt mod works !



ol'norton
01-03-2008, 04:14 PM
The following pictures aren't pretty, but my first go at voltmodding worked & I'm pretty chuffed. The second wire I soldered (Memory voltage read wire) looked like it took out the resistor. :cry:.
But I booted up & the card still worked, so I thought I'll leave well enough alone. But after a few hours I got my nerve back & decided to have another go. (Well I had already bought the magnifying goggles)
Even when you solder the wire to the resistor for the GPU mod, it is so small that you can't tell if you got it right until you boot up.
Well it booted up & I was able to increase the GPU voltage :p
The card is still on air & it's still bloody hot so I didn't bother giving it a workout, but I'm pretty happy with my first volt mod. :rotflmao:
I'll get it on watercooling, or Dry Ice if Vince will return my PM's :rolleyes: & try and get a few points before I attempt the Memory mod. ;)

http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/7143/voltmod002eg3.jpg

Taking the pics with a cheap camera, is nearly as hard as the volt modding. :lol:

http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/2663/voltmod005us1.jpg

http://img293.imageshack.us/img293/259/voltmod018ti4.jpg

joeMan
01-03-2008, 06:56 PM
I love it. Congrats on the succesful soldering.

boshuter
01-03-2008, 07:33 PM
Good job, I like the connector for the voltage readouts.. :thumbs:

You said in your pm that your iron tip was 2X4mm? Is that a wedge shaped tip? Below is a pic of the iron I use for small work, it's hooked to a 60watt Weller station, but has a very tiny conical tip; That tip is almost wore out, when new it's almost needle size at the tip. (btw, I don't recommend a 60w iron for beginners ;))

ol'norton
01-03-2008, 07:41 PM
It's an elliptical shaped tip, I suppose I could just file it to a point. :idea:

boshuter
01-03-2008, 08:06 PM
I don't recommend filing it..... those tips have a coating and filing will destroy that coating, I have filed mine, but it was an emergency and didn't have time to wait on a new tip to arrive. It's much better to just order the tip you need, I learned my lesson and now keep a few new tips around.

Just Learnin'
01-03-2008, 10:40 PM
Nice job ol'norton! :cool: Nothing you won't tackle it seems. :bow:

ol'norton
01-03-2008, 11:45 PM
Nothing you won't tackle it seems. :bow:

I haven't tried making my own case .....yet. :mischeif:

Just Learnin'
01-04-2008, 01:10 AM
I was wondering about that, what's the hold up? :scratch: Probably win contests with the work you can do. :thumbs:

Tauvo
01-04-2008, 01:20 PM
Nice work there :-) and when will we get to read the "pencil mod" version of this? ;)

harleybro
01-04-2008, 03:13 PM
Great stuff Ol'Norton. :thumb: I must admit I never vmem modded mine due to that point being so small. I can't wait to see your results. :rock::yup:

ol'norton
01-05-2008, 03:35 PM
Nice work there :-) and when will we get to read the "pencil mod" version of this? ;)

I don't think you can pencil mod the Vgpu. :scratch:
The Vmem mod can be done with a pencil across the two points in the red eclipse.
The tiny dot on the right (remember this is blown up) is where you would solder a 20Kohm resistor for a more controlled mod. Read your Vmem from where I made a mess of the soldering on the fat red wire.

http://img292.imageshack.us/img292/3577/8800gtxpencilmoddb1.jpg

blwest
01-06-2008, 09:03 PM
nice solders. I once got into trouble for soldering at work...something to do with lead and ventilation.

ol'norton
01-12-2008, 07:33 PM
With Aircooling (22C Ambient) I was able to get 740MHz on the core through 3DMark-03 @1.60v.
745MHz gave artifacts in Proxycon & raising the voltage to 1.65v didn't help at all, so that's probably it for aircooling.
The DTEK Fusion GPU block I bought didn't cool as well as the HR03 aircooler, when in a closed loop. So I guess I need to insulate for icewater or a GPU pot. :rolleyes:
I'll get the CPU back on Dry Ice next weekend & see what sort of score I can get. :)

http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/1810/0347866ga6.jpg

harleybro
01-12-2008, 10:37 PM
Nice work. :thumb: Is that the max for your shader clocks?

Just Learnin'
01-13-2008, 12:08 AM
22C! It's freezing there! :rotflmao: That is an impressive air cooling setup. :bow:

ol'norton
01-13-2008, 12:22 AM
Nice work. :thumb: Is that the max for your shader clocks?

No, that's just with the shaders linked to the GPU core clocks.

It's a bit warmer than early this morning, so I just run the shaders up on their own.
2000MHz was seeing snowy dots. 1954MHz was clear as a bell. I didn't try anything in between. But running 740 core & 1800 shaders, saw it freeze up. (probably just heat)


22C! It's freezing there! :rotflmao:
Yeah had the Aircon on before breakfast. :D

http://img101.imageshack.us/img101/5620/1954shaderwa2.jpg

BeeHay
01-13-2008, 04:33 PM
Awesome ol'norton!

8800gtx mods, made right here at home :rock: love the breadboard add-on :p

740 core :fire:

:bow:

harleybro
01-13-2008, 06:46 PM
Nice results. :thumb: If you can get the shaders up that high through the bench with the gpu clocks up there then you should see avey nice improvement in score. :D

ol'norton
03-08-2008, 10:14 PM
Well I finally got around to finishing this mod, With a 20K ohm VR for the memory.
Hell those dots are tiny :look:
It's too hot here today to test it out, I took the Vmem up to 2.15v & the idle temp went up to 56C.

http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/7800/memmodlk4.jpg


http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/3626/moddedgtxbo6.jpg

And here's the finished artical, complete with modded DTek Unisink & Thermalright HR 03 Plus

Just Learnin'
03-08-2008, 10:20 PM
Was there ever any doubt? :suspect: :scratch::chit::hide:

Another excellent job ol'norton. :yup: :beer:

ol'norton
03-08-2008, 10:24 PM
Was there ever any doubt?

Yeah, It's a long time between soldering & seeing the screen come up. :wpleased:

liquidcooled
03-08-2008, 10:44 PM
Do you have to use a certain gauge wire?, ive got 30 AWG for the 8800 gts vgpu mod im about to do. thanks

liquidcooled
03-08-2008, 10:48 PM
and do vgpu volts affect your shader volts as well? cause your are very high so just wondering what the trick it.

ol'norton
03-08-2008, 11:03 PM
I just went with the thinnest wire I could find, the resistors on the VMem especially, are so small, thicker wire would join it to the next resistor.

I'm not sure if the VGpu mod helped the Shader clocks, because prior to the mod, the only way to unlink the shaders was through a bios flash.
Jay should be able to tell you thou, he was playing with his in the bios before he modded his I think.

Just Learnin'
03-08-2008, 11:10 PM
Harleybro said he used wires stripped from IDE cables I believe if that is any help LC.


and do vgpu volts affect your shader volts as well? cause your are very high so just wondering what the trick it.

You mean clocks? Like as in unlinking them with Rivatuner and setting them separately? :scratch:

liquidcooled
03-08-2008, 11:31 PM
i can get my shaders to 1350 stabe, just wonder what the trick it. (unlinked) and both my card bios are flashed to 612core 1000 mem 1350 shader if that helps any.

ol'norton
03-08-2008, 11:38 PM
My shaders are 1350 standard, but they went much higher than that before I did the voltmods.

Have you tried with Expertool & just take the shaders up on their own, like in the shot above.

I just checked some old screenie's, it would do 1480Mhz on the shaders, when they were linked to the GPU, before it was voltmodded.

Just Learnin'
03-08-2008, 11:51 PM
Something else to watch for is that the highest setting the card is capable of for shader clocks is not always the best for a bench run. Every benchmark seems to differ as to what it "likes" that to be set at and the score may drop even though it passes the bench with higher shader clocks. At least I found this to be true with my card although it was only stock cooling and overall heat created with the higher shader clocks might have been the issue.

liquidcooled
03-09-2008, 12:31 AM
yeah sorry ill start my own thread sorry norton =(

liquidcooled
03-09-2008, 07:09 PM
Hello norton, quick question

What is your stock vgpu voltage for 2d/3d?

thanks bud =)

ol'norton
03-09-2008, 07:30 PM
1.3v for both. :thumb:

Pyr0
03-17-2008, 09:50 AM
hi norton (me again :p)

was wondering what sort of increases you saw from the vmem mod?
I've just tried to pencil mod mine and took the mem up to 2.07V but i'm still seeing some glitches with the mem set to 1053Mhz and idle temps did not increase *shrug* (according to rivatuner's monitor)
http://img239.imageshack.us/img239/6530/rtzb3.jpg

to test the stability, i left it looping the crysis benchmark (set for 20 loops) but it locked up after 17 runs

i also noticed that i used a completely different spot for the mem mod...
i followed the pictures on vr-zone, but the resistor they say to use is on a different side to the one you used
http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=4296&s=1

i'm thinking either i've got really crap memory on this card or i'm doing something wrong :bonk::(

liquidcooled
03-17-2008, 10:28 AM
You do have the correct point pyro, ive checked around and its good, norton just used a dif point (not uncommon to be a few spots)

Pyr0
03-17-2008, 12:56 PM
Hi liquidcooled :wave:

oh well, that must mean i just have a crappy card then... :(
i suppose it hasn't done too badly tho as i've had it for something like 16 months now and there's still nothing to "upgrade" to. would have been nice to get near ultra clocks on mem tho just to pass 100GB/sec bandwidth *shrug*

guess i'll have to wind them back down again :(

ol'norton
03-18-2008, 12:47 AM
We've had a bit of a heatwave since I did the mem mod & haven't tested it out yet.
38-40C isn't much good for overclocking. But the temps are dropping now & I hope to do some benchin on Friday, I let you know how it goes.

The Ultras have faster memory, although harleybro's GTX got near them, & his wasn't mem modded.


Great aircooled GPU temp. :thumbs:

ol'norton
03-21-2008, 04:01 PM
hi norton (me again :p)

was wondering what sort of increases you saw from the vmem mod?
I've just tried to pencil mod mine and took the mem up to 2.07V but i'm still seeing some glitches with the mem set to 1053Mhz and idle temps did not increase *shrug*

What was the mem voltage before you penciled it?
Mine is 2.00v by default.
With 2.250v on the mem & 1.655v on the GPU, I got through 03 with the memory on 1160MHz. My previous best was 1136MHz.
So that's a lot of extra voltage for an extra 24MHz, & I may have to drop it back, to get my GPU back up to my previous 740MHz (although that could be heat related)
The 66C idle temp is due to the VGPU, but you could feel the heat coming off the ramsinks:fire:

http://img156.imageshack.us/img156/9343/memmodclocksso6.jpg

We have a lot going on at the moment, so I didn't get time to find out why it wouldn't go over 420fsb. Maybe memory settings, maybe the new F6 bios. :scratch:
But I'll post a score when I get it sorted.;)

Pyr0
03-23-2008, 03:13 PM
What was the mem voltage before you penciled it?
Mine is 2.00v by default.


I measured 1.97V *shrug*

I wish I had steadier hands to try the hardmods, nice results m8 :thumbs: