PDA

View Full Version : P4C800-E rma fix = reflash bios ?



eva2000
11-10-2003, 09:56 PM
My P4C800-E Deluxe board with 1011 final bios us being sent back today to my retailer from a rma'd on Oct 31, 2003 as it wouldn't reboot. It was running a P4 2.4C for over a week in prommy mach2 and i was priming one day and came back to see the screen was black and monitor green light blinking. I tried clearing cmos and leaving it unplugged for a day and still wouldn't boot up.

Now, RMA status was updated by the retailer today

11/11 BEN> REPAIRED - SUPPLIER RE-FLASHED BIOS.

Now i don't know which bios they reflashed to as i was already running 1011 final bios for a few months already. If the final 1011 bios was the problem with my P4C800-E rev 1.02 not booting, does that mean i can no longer update to that bios ?? Anyone is similar position with their P4C800-E rev 1.02 motherboards ?

Just worried if the reflash doesn't fix the problem properly :o

Jim
11-10-2003, 10:11 PM
I'd wonder how you can flash a bios on a board that won't boot? :scratch:

Perhaps that was a generic explanation of the repair.

eva2000
11-10-2003, 10:24 PM
yeah has me baffled.. :confused:

pointreyes
11-10-2003, 10:54 PM
You flash the bios on a dead board by replacing the bios chip. I did that with an Asus A7N8x-Deluxe. You can also do what is known as a hot flash. You use a known working bios chip to get the computer working and then you replace the bios chip with the old one while the computer is still on. This is supposedly flash the bios chip from the bios on the working chip.

Bios 1011 was not a great bios for my board. I reverted to 1010. 1011 kills the Promise controller and whenever a bios does even one thing that kills a main feature on the board I don't consider the bios good.

I believe sometime later this week bios 1013 will be out. Don't use 1012 which never got pass the beta phase.

eva2000
11-10-2003, 11:17 PM
interesting... so if i used something like a Bios Saviour device i would have had the same affect when something went wrong ? i.e. i could use Bios Saviour to give my bios new life ?

pointreyes
11-10-2003, 11:30 PM
Yes. But it does not always work. I had to RMA my Abit NF7-S and I tried the bios saviour but the board failed to work with the new bios chip. :( However, that helped to confirm to me that the bios was not the problem and I suspect it was the memory controller that went bellyup.

eva2000
11-11-2003, 06:02 PM
well i asked my retailer and they said the same thing either supplier replaced bios chip or reflashed it they tested it okay and just moments i got the board delivered so will see how it goes :)